Team Sampsonite 2011

This past Thursday Ryan and I made our way to De Soto to spend some time with family and friends.  John was not able to make the trip with us because he had to work on Saturday.  I told him if I keep making trips home without him people are going to think we’re getting divorced.

We got in town Thursday around noon and spent the day hanging out at my parents house with my Mom.  Thursday night one of my best friends Sara had a birthday party for her youngest girl Sophie.  I was so excited that the timing worked out that we actually got to go!  Ryan was pretty clingy, there are a ton of kids in Sara’s family and Ryan can be pretty shy in front of strangers, but we still had a really good time.

Friday was the big day- Relay for Life!  The family headed over around 5:30 for all of the opening ceremonies and like last year, I walked the survivor lap with my Aunt Phyllis.  I’ve said it a million times but I love my family and all of the support they have showed for us over the past year is tremendous.  Some of my friends showed up as well and while I didn’t stay all night, I made it until about 1:30.  Shout out those troopers who made it until 6 AM!

Saturday we spent the day with my sister Pam and my nieces, we just missed my brother-in-law Bryan who came home from a job he was out of state for.  Dad got 2 cows on Saturday so Ryan loved going to look at those with his Paw-Paw.  Saturday night we went over to Sara’s house for pizza, after dinner I took Ryan home to go to bed and I went back over. Takara & John and Kristen & Andrew came over and we played a mean game of Scattegories.

Sunday- Mother’s Day- we had breakfast with my parents before leaving around 10:30 to come back to Springfield.  Ryan was good in the car both there and back, but didn’t really sleep.  We took a small nap when we got back and didn’t really do much the rest of the evening.  It was a good Mother’s Day, but Ryan and I were just so tired from our busy weekend.

While I was home we also found out that my Uncle John, who my Aunt Linda has been with for 16 years, has cancer in his lungs, liver, bones and brain.  I went to visit him in the hospital for a while on Friday morning and at that point, he was in a lot of pain.  I’m very thankful that I was home and could see him, although it’s such a helpless feeling to see someone you love in that much pain.  He is now home and Hospice is doing a good job of keeping him comfortable.  So I’m asking for prayers for John, Linda and all of his family- that they are both comforted during this hard time.

I went to the doctor today and all of my counts were outstanding.  I have a bit of a sore throat and because of that I have an appointment with my general practioner tomorrow.  I haven’t seen him since I got the blood work done to find out I had cancer, but they are urging me to see him for anything that isn’t specifically cancer-related.  I get it, I mean Dr. Ellis has hundreds of patients and he needs to focus on keeping cancer cells out of my body and not whether or not I have strep or allergies.  Still, it’s kind of annoying to have to go to a different doctor when I still have to go to the oncologist once a week.

Leave a comment