Round 3- Day 7

Last Tuesday I started my third round of maintenance.  The past couple days have been rough from stopping the steroids, but I am feeling better today.   This morning I went in for my weekly appointment and was surprised to find that my white count has gone down again.  Today it was 2.4- neutropenic again.  When I voiced my surprise, the nurse said “Well, that’s what chemo does, it catches up to you.”  It’s really not that big of a deal, but I guess I was just getting used to it being in the normal range.  I asked for a form to renew my handicapped tags that expire on 5/10, but Dr. Ellis shot me down.  He wants me to walk more and I guess I was expecting he wouldn’t sign off on it, but it still wasn’t the best appointment I’ve had.

This Friday is Relay for Life in Festus and Ryan and I are heading up that way on Thursday.  John has to work this Saturday so he won’t be making the trip with us.  I’m looking forward to seeing my friends and family and having a little change of pace.  Oh, and along the lines of Relay for Life, I wanted to give a shot out to my college roommate Karen for doing the Country Music Half Marathon 2011 with her LLS Team in Training.  Thanks KG- ❤ LB

I have been feeling pretty down lately, just stuck in a rut.  I know I get tired when I try to do too much, but I know I could do more if I just pushed myself- then eventually I would have more energy.  I need a new routine.  I am hoping the nicer weather is the motivation I need to get off my ass and make some changes!  And of course declaring my intent publicly might be some motivation too.  I think the major problem is these things (gaining energy, strength, diet, etc) are long term goals and I haven’t had many short-term goals I can cross off my list lately, which is what really motivates me.  So today, I made a to-do list of things I was already planning on doing so I can cross them off.  You have to start somewhere.

5 thoughts on “Round 3- Day 7

  1. Thanks for the shout out. So many inspiring stories this year of people beating blood cancers and you’re one of them friend. 🙂

    I am all about the to do list…baby steps…you’ll get there! 🙂

    Love you!

  2. This rain has been enough to get everyone down! Spring is such a wonderful sign of renewal…start your own renewal…it’s a new season! Hang in there!

  3. I know you love a to-do list as much as I do! 🙂 One step at a time. You’ll be crossing off those big goals in no time!

  4. Go KG! I know you and Ryan will have fun at home this weekend! And as a seasoned list-maker, I find that starting your list with two items you’ve already completed is great for motivation. Check, check! 🙂

Leave a Reply

