Almost 3 years of my life.

It’s been so long I don’t even know where to start.  I guess with the big news.  Done.  Finished.  Complete.  32 months of treatment behind me.  Almost 3 years of my life.

Image

Ryan was 19 months old when I was diagnosed.

Ryan 19 months

and now he’s 4:

Ryan 4 years old

I just want to say thanks to all of you who were there for us on this journey.  I cannot even begin to list all the ways our friends and family have helped us and for that alone, we are really blessed.  Now I need to work on Act II, the one where I don’t think about cancer everyday and pretend it never happened.

To celebrate we are going to Disney World on Saturday!!  I was hoping to post a video of us telling Ryan, you know the ones I’m talking about, where you tell the kids you are leaving in 30 minutes, bags are packed and loaded and they go absolutely bananas.  Well, John told Ryan we were going to Florida and while he didn’t tell him Disney, in Ryan’s mind FL=Disney.  So I’ve been pounding it in his head the past couple weeks that we’re NOT going to Disney, just to the beach to try to get that moment back.  He totally doesn’t believe me though.  John’s brother Jim, Amy & their 3 kids are going to go too.  Blog post to follow.

Other highlights since my last post on June 1st.

  • Ryan turned 4 on July 25th

Image

  • My family had another golf tournament to raise money to help with my medical bills

Image

  • Ryan was ring bearer in our friends wedding

Image

  • The Cards had another good run this year and I was able to make it to Game 3 of the NLCS

Image

5 thoughts on “Almost 3 years of my life.

  1. DONE AND DONE. You’ve been amazing. You don’t have to pretend it never happened as I’m sure it’s made you realize that you can really do ANYTHING. Take THAT with you!
    I can’t wait to see pictures of Ryan at Disney- that is so much fun!
    KG

  2. To my favorite Laura….. You are an inspiration to us all! I hope that Act II begins soon so you can be rid of the “worry” that I know follows you around (will we ever shut that off in our heads?!). Focus on all the wonderful things around you and know that you are stronger than anything that life throws at you. Love you!

  3. Congratulations!!! I hope you have a great trip to Disney, have you been before? Make sure you go to Guest Relations at any of the Disney parks and ask for a “Magical Triumph” “First visit” or “I’m Celebrating” button and tell them why. I am not guaranteeing anything, but they usually like to make those kinds of trips special. Enjoy!

  4. I wanted to tell you how happy I am for you and your family. So awesome not to have to think of cancer anymore. My Grand daughter had cancer and is in remission for abouta year. Hope it works out that she never needs to worry again, also/ Your son is so cute and he will love Disney World. Best age to take him. I wanted to wish you the very best to you and your family. Lillie Christian (Mom’s childhood friend).

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

