Fall Fun

In treatment news, last week I had chemo on Tuesday and started my round of dexamethasone (steroids) for this month.  The chemo makes me tired, but not really nauseous; it’s the steroids that take it’s toll on me.  Night sweats, really bad body aches, grinding my teeth in my sleep, hunger…  Yesterday morning was my last dose so by tomorrow morning I should be feeling more like normal.

Dr. Ellis had been letting me skip a week or two of coming in to have blood work done to check my counts, but this past week my white count was a little low for the second week in a row.  I’m now back to having to go in every week for labs just so he can monitor if my WBC was low because of a virus (which I was thinking was allergies) or if it’s the daily and weekly chemo pills slowly dragging it down.  If the latter is the case, we might just pause treatment for a week or two to let them recover a bit, but I highly doubt it comes to that.

So far this month has been both fun and busy!  Ryan and I have spent a few mornings at the park, I’ve had a chance to catch up with some old friends over coffee, book club, open house at Ryan’s daycare… seems like there’s always something going on.

This past weekend was especially fun.  I went to the Cards game on Friday night with Sara and it was a blast.  Having been to countless games at the old Busch, this was only my second game in the new stadium.  We had good seats, the first row of the upper deck right behind home plate.  And now after last night’s win… World Series here we come baby!!

Saturday afternoon we went to our little friend Gabe’s birthday party at the Discovery Center.  It has been forever since we’ve been there and Ryan is now big enough to do a little more (it’s like a smaller scale Science Center) so we had a really good time!

This week is super busy! Today is my cousin Dustin’s birthday and he is having a gathering this evening, my other cousin Brian will be in town for work and staying with us a couple nights (he’s Ryan’s BFF), this weekend Ryan is staying with his Maw-Maw and Paw-Paw while I make my way down to Nashville to see my college roomie Karen.  I’m so excited!

One thought on “Fall Fun

Leave a Reply

