Golf Tournament

Last weekend, August 13th, we headed to DeSoto for a jammed-packed weekend!  Friday at noon we left Springfield and made our way to my parents house.  Ryan stayed with them while John and I went over to my cousin Brian & Jenn’s house to get things ready for a wedding shower for our other cousin Drew and his fiance Kara.  All of the Pitzer side of the family was there to help welcome her to the family.  We are really looking forward to their wedding, only a few more weeks!

Saturday was the golf tournament,  the second annual benefit golf tournament our family has put on for us.  My cousin Al is a pro at setting these things up and with the help of my aunt Betty and lots of other family members, the day was a tremendous success.  We received $4,007, everyone had a great time and the weather was perfect for August.  We are so appreciative of how giving everyone has been, we are very blessed!  The words don’t seem to do it justice.

That Sunday was my oldest niece Chelsey’s graduation party.  She just turned 19 and started classes today at MU.  I really cannot believe she’s old enough to be out in the world on her own, but I am very proud of her… even if she decided not to got to MSU.  😉

Running around like crazy when we are in DeSoto isn’t super relaxing and I didn’t have much time to rest this week either.  Last Tuesday I had my LAST spinal tap!  It went well and I’m sooo glad to have that part of treatment finished.   The rest of the week was spent preparing for a garage sale.  Between running around and picking up tables, setting things up, pricing things… man, it’s a lot of work.  Friday went well and Saturday went terrible.  Overall, we made about $400 but still have lots of Ryan’s clothes left.    I organized his clothes into groupings and am trying to sell those on Craigslist.  Today I took a ton of stuff to Goodwill and only ended up bringing a small amount of things back in the house, so I guess it was a success.  But not a venture I’m willing to go through again anytime soon.

Tomorrow I go in for my weekly nurse evaluation and blood work.  It’s crazy to think about, but I am only half way done with my treatments.  The 25th will be the year and a half mark and I have a total of 3 years of treatment.  The hardest part is over… from now on I will just take pills daily, other pills weekly and IV chemo monthly.  Oh, and the steroids.  Which I think are worse than the chemo.  I see the light at the end of the tunnel.  This will end one day!

One thought on “Golf Tournament

  1. Awesome pics as always, Laura. Your energy and attitude continue to amaze me. God is truly blessing you and using your life to encourage others. Keep on keepin’ on! 🙂 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

