Lazy Weekend

Thursday night I had my monthly book club meeting, where we discussed Heaven is for Real.   I think I had mentioned it when I finished it, but it’s the story of a boy who had a near death experience then told his family what Heaven is really like.  We were all in agreement that it was a little bit, for lack of a better word,  “hokey”.  Our book for next month is the The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, which is the true story about how one woman’s cells have helped science discover all kinds of things, even my monthly IV chemo Vincristine.  I’m about 35% finished and it’s really interesting so far.  While I was at book club, the boys went on a walk in the neighborhood in the backpack.

Things have been pretty quiet on the home front and we had a nice, relaxing weekend.  Saturday morning we got up and met John”s parents and Shannon at the Village Inn for breakfast.  We spent the morning running a few errands before it was time to come home and nap.  It was a lazy day that included lots of playtime with the little dude.

Sunday we had John’s parents and Shannon & Kevin over for dinner.  John has been wanting to try a recipe he found on Williams-Sonoma for a roast crown of pork.  He spent the day prepping and chopping, with this as the end result:

In addition to this, John & Ryan made banana bread on Friday night.  What a lucky gal I am!

Tomorrow I go to the doctor for labs/ meeting with the RN.  I have been feeling pretty rough the past couple days, it’s the time during treatment where I wean off of the steroids so I basically feel like I’ve been hit by a train.  It should let up tomorrow though.

Wednesday I am planning on going to De Soto and will be staying through Sunday.  My cousin Brian’s little boy, Tyson, is turning 1 so we have a very important birthday party to attend!  John has to work this weekend so Ryan & I are heading up early on our own.  I love coming home but am always frustrated because I can never do everything I want to do while I’m there.  Hopefully I can make my rounds and see everyone I want to (without being exhausted when I get back home).

3 thoughts on “Lazy Weekend

  1. Great pics as usual! Hope you enjoy your trip to D’town this weekend. Just a suggestion….you land in one spot and ask everyone to come to you to visit….after all, you’ve already done a long drive to get here and have a long one to get back home! 🙂

  2. You will love The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, great book. Although, I noticed the author didn’t put aside any profits from the book to help the Lacks family, just set up a fund. So, in the end, she sounds selfish like the rest of the journalists exposing Henrietta’s history. So glad to hear that things are quite and enjoyable and the pork roast looks yummy!

Leave a Reply

