One Year Down

This last Friday marked the one year anniversary of my diagnosis.  My friend Anne, who had breast cancer 16 years ago, refers to it as her “Re-Birthday” and I’m going to steal that as I think it most accurately describes the event.  It sounds a lot better than “Hey!  I lived another year!”

To celebrate some of our friends got together for food & drinks.  I laugh so much when I’m with this group, of course my friends are hilarious, but when you add the men to the mix, it’s just non-stop.  What I like best is the range of conversations we have, we talked about: “Waiting for Superman” and our public school systems vs. private schools, Albert and what will happen if he doesn’t re-sign, unions, and scattered in between those more serious topics, words that offend Heather and crude conversations that best not be shared publicly.  I think we all had a really good time.

The past year hasn’t been the easiest but I want to sincerely thank everyone who has helped us.  Cancer is a battle that you can’t fight alone and I’m lucky to have the best friends and family in the world to back me up.  After my diagnosis it took a while for me to realize just how much it affects people other than myself.  I wasn’t trying to be selfish, it  just took a while for it to sink in.  Then I realized,  “Hmm, this may be a little stressful for my husband too” because I know if the roles were reversed I would be a wreck.  He was been so strong and patient with me as I’m sure I’m not a joy to be around every second of the day.  He listens to me complain about what’s bothering me that day, but has never once seemed to be inconvenienced by anything this disease has brought to our family.  Then for every time I thought “I’m glad it’s me and not Ryan”, I think about my parents and how even though I’m 29 now, I’m sure those feelings for your kid don’t change and they are probably worried to death.  They don’t let it show and just continue to be an amazing support.  John’s parents have been a lifesaver with keeping Ryan and taking me to appointments.  I don’t know what we’d do without them.  I think my sister-in-law Amy said it best in her blog post, which you can view here.

The list of those who have helped and prayed for us goes on and on and for that we are extremely lucky.  Thank you.

We had a fun weekend with Ryan.  I’ve instituted a “ticket system” in our household.  He gets tickets for doing good things like staying in his big boy bed all night and letting us know when he has to go potty.  When he gets 10 tickets, he gets a treat.  Yesterday we went to Target for him to pick out a little toy.  He selected Spiderman bubbles that come with 3D glasses.  We went to the park and it was so windy you couldn’t blow, you just had to let the wind do it.  He had fun running around chasing the frantically flying bubbles.

Speaking of Target, that reminded me of a funny conversation we had.  He likes to act like a puppy.  I said to him “You sure are a cute puppy, where did you come from?”  He said “Target”  🙂

2 thoughts on “One Year Down

  1. I love the ticket system idea!!! So thankful this year is passed and praying for much better years ahead for you and your family! I didn’t know puppies came from Target either….always learn so much when I read your blogs!!!! 🙂

  2. Hi Laura, still thinking of and praying for you. Sorry I haven’t kept in touch more. Please give baby Ryan a big hug and kiss for Ninny. As always, if I can do ANYTHING! for you, please call me. Love to all, Nin

Leave a Reply

