Thinking of Nathan

It’s not often I let myself think about the heaviness of our situation, it’s mostly just a foggy thought of “I have cancer” and that thought hasn’t even crossed my mind lately as much as it did in the beginning.  Then the other night while reading my friend Abby’s blog I stumbled upon a post about one of her friends passing away from leukemia.  He was a couple years younger than me, and although it was a different form of leukemia than I have (he had AML), that hit me hard.  Here I am crying for a guy I never knew, crying for his poor wife and, in a way, crying for myself.  I guess it just kind of scared me, if it happened to him why couldn’t it happen to me?  I found his Caring Bridge blog and read only a couple pages, seeing that maybe he had pneumonia near the end.  My recent bout with pneumonia was the first time I thought,” you know, this could kill me”.  I have never thought I was going to die from this, but then it’s hard not to let your mind wander to that dark place.  In his obituary it wanted to thank Dr. Ellis and the nurses on 5W; it all just hit a little too close to home and shook me up a bit.

His name was Nathan and his wife keeps a blog – http://www.minusambition.blogspot.com/ It would nice for everyone to say a little prayer for her, being a widow at 25 is heartbreaking, and for the rest of his family.

4 thoughts on “Thinking of Nathan

  1. I will definitely pray for the family of this young man and for you, Laura. You are a courageous and inspirational young lady, but you are still allowed to be human. Praying peace for your spirit and God’s continued blessing on your health!!! 🙂

  2. Thank you for thinking of Nathan/us. It’s amazing to think that we have been all the same places and know all the same wonderful people at Cox. We’ve probably been at the same place at the same time and just never knew it… and interestingly enough, my best friend hails from DeSoto, originally, too.. though we are a year younger- ’01. (I’m actually 27- I was a “cradle” robber). I will be praying for you and your family. Don’t let Nathan’s story keep you down- He’d hate that.

Leave a Reply

