You Say it’s Your Birthday

Today I turn 29 and I don’t think I’ve ever been so happy to have a birthday.  I never would have thought in my 28th year I’d go through countless chemo treatments, blood transfusions, something like 6 bone marrow biopsies and 10 spinal taps.  And I lived through it.  And my quality of life wasn’t terrible.  I have changed more this past year than I can even describe.  I never really thought birthdays were that big of a deal, fun to celebrate but really just another trip around the sun.  This year feels different.  I am truly happy just to have another one to celebrate.

Friday John took off work and we went to my neck of the woods.  We dropped Ryan off with my Mom and he was pushing us out the door to leave.  He literally shut the door in my face when I was telling him to be good and listen to Maw-Maw.  We went up to the loop and checked in to the Moonrise Hotel, we stayed there last year for my birthday too.  Brian, Jenn, Elisha, Sean, Takara, John, Sara & Matt all met us at Blueberry Hill at 7 that night for dinner.  We all ordered burgers and mine was super good.  I don’t really get to see my friends that often since I really only come home for holidays, which I spend with family (which is good too).   It was just really nice to have a night out with John in STL.

Saturday afternoon we ate at the well-known pizza establishment Pi which just happened to be right across the street from the hotel.   (President Obama ate there when he was in town.) Since we were celebrating my birthday, I ordered the stuffed mushrooms (which I normally don’t do since John doesn’t like them) and they were soooo good, the pizza was pretty alright too.   We went to the Art Museum for a little while before heading back to De Soto.

Saturday night we had dinner and cake with Mom, Dad, Pam, Torie & Brandi.  Ryan helped Mom make the cake and had been waiting patiently all day to eat it.   My niece Chelsey had to work on Saturday night, but she did come over on Sunday morning to eat breakfast with us before we had to head out for the day.

It was a really great weekend, a lot of fun!  We have no plans for today besides I let John know we’d be getting take out from somewhere because I’m not cooking 🙂  Happy Valentines Day!

6 thoughts on “You Say it’s Your Birthday

  1. Happy Birthday! Sounds like a great weekend 🙂 Also wanted to mention that I love how your hair is growing back! The short ‘do looks great on you!

  2. I love that picture so much! You look great. And I am so glad to wish you a happy birthday this year friend. Sounds like it was a great weekend!

  3. Laura you are so beautiful inside and out!!! This year has almost changed all of my thoughts about life! Keep strong it will be over soon! By the way thanks for saying that our family! love you!

Leave a Reply

