Home

This morning I talked with Dr. Williams; she was the rounding doctor at the hospital today and therefore the one who decides if I stay or get to go home.  She told me that she knew I was expecting to go home today, but that she didn’t think it was a good idea.  In fact she said my immune system is “shot to hell” and if I went home she thinks I’d be right back in by the weekend.  She said that I’m not the typical Joe off the street with pneumonia and that leukemia patients can get some “weird” infections and she wanted to get to the bottom of things.  While I also want to know if there’s anything else going on, I was a little annoyed that someone waited until the day I was expecting to go home to want to do some other tests.  The first thing she wanted me to do is meet with an infectious disease doctor.   He came in and asked a lot of questions, like if I had grown up on a farm and if I’d been around chickens.  When I told him that I had a cold before I got pneumonia and that I have a two year old with a runny nose and cough he said that he thinks I just have a respiratory virus.  He ordered a nose swab and I will hear about the results of that in a couple days.  He thought I could go home and after he talked to Dr. Williams she decided I could be released today!  So I got another neupogen shot for the road and went home to nap in my own bed.

I will follow up with Dr. Ellis most likely at the beginning of next week.  I have not heard anything about the bone marrow biopsy yet, hopefully I will tomorrow so I don’t have to wait all weekend.  I’m off to bed now, where I can sleep through the night without an IV machine beeping, having my vitals taken and without worrying about pulling on the tubes from my picc line.  It’s the little things in life.

6 thoughts on “Home

  1. Laura – sorry to hear you are having such a rough time…pneumonia can really take its’ toll on a healthy person with a normal immune system. Hang in there, it might take longer to come out of it, but you will do it. You are in my prayers.

  2. Laura:: I’m sooo happy that you got to come home!! I certainly hope that you are not back in the hospital like the doctor said! and I hope the bone marrow biopsy goes well! I love you Aunt Laura!

Leave a Reply

