Stupid Pneumonia

Last Tuesday I started the IV antibiotics, a z-pak and then saw Dr. Ellis on Thursday. He wanted me to hold all my chemo drugs, monitor for fevers and come back on Monday for a chest x-ray then see him again on Tuesday.
Yesterday I had to go into outpatient at 2:30 for my dose of the antibiotics and around 1:30 my temperature was 101.3. I took some pain pills and a bath and by the time I got to my appointment my fever was down to 99 something. They called the on-call doctor to let her know and she started me on a new antibiotic and let me know to call if it got up around 101 again. Poor John was on his own with the little dude last night because I was just out of commission, around 6:30 I went to bed and was running a fever of 101.9 by 9:30. So I called the on-call doctor again and she said that if I felt any shortness of breath or anything to go to the ER, otherwise we’d wait til the morning unless I felt otherwise. I told her that I’d rather sleep in my own bed and she told me to call first thing when the office opened at 8:30 and she’d pass these notes along to Dr. Ellis.

I got a call at 8 this morning telling me go ahead and go over for the chest x-ray then and then come into the office to see the doctor. I got the x-ray and was over to their office by 10. I met with him and he thought it was best if I was admitted since I should not be running fevers like that while on IV antibiotics (as well as a few other oral antibiotics). My chest x-ray looked better and he said my lungs sounded better, but that we’d just be safe and keep me in the hospital for 3 or 4 days. So I’m in my room (529) waiting to get picc line so we can get started on the several kinds of antibiotics I’ll be having.  Kind of makes me miss the hickman.

4 thoughts on “Stupid Pneumonia

  1. Oh, Laura, I am so sorry to hear that you are back in the hospital. I know you miss your boys, but I know you will find the silver lining in this visit. I learned how to make a new and very easy quilt. Maybe we could get together and make it.
    Love you and pray for you. I Leslie

  2. Hope you get better real soon. I appreciate your site so much…I’ve learned a little about the medicial part of Cancer. Our 18 year old Granddaughter is a trooper like you. I’ve told her all about you. Will be saying a prayer for you. by the way tell your mom Lillie says hi. Lillie Christia

  3. We all know that you need to be in the hospital so you can get better quicker but we hate you have to be there in the first place. I wish I was there to give you a massage. You are on my mind constantly and always in my prayers. Love Mom

Leave a Reply

