Giving Thanks

Being that November is a month to give thanks, I had wanted to do a post that lists one thing I’m thankful for each day.  Seeing as it’s now December (really?!), I never got around to doing that, but figured better late than never.  Here is my list of 30 things, both big and small, that I am thankful for.

  1. John.  He’s been wonderful in supporting me and our little family throughout this whole ordeal.  I am so proud to call him my husband and he’s given me the greatest gift I could ever ask for…  Ryan.
  2. Ryan.  He is the greatest joy in my life.  He makes me smile and melts my heart when he wraps his little arms around my neck.  I love being his Mommy and only hope I am helping him become as good of a person as his Daddy.
  3. Parents.  What can I say about Jim and Joan?  They are just good people.  They have always been there for me and set a great example of what parents should be like.  Although they are 3 hours away, I am thankful for and enjoy the time I do get to spend with them.
  4. Family.   How blessed I am to have such wonderful people in my family.  I’m having a hard time finding words to properly describe how much my family means to me.  I’ve always loved growing up with so many aunts, uncles and cousins and now I’m blessed to have great in-laws as well.  Everyone has been so generous in helping us anyway they can, I really couldn’t go through this without the support of all of these people.
  5. Friends.  I have the greatest friends in the world, no question.  They are always there to listen to me vent or brag about Ryan.  They are generous, caring and supportive.
  6. Mail.  Since I was first in the hospital, my friends have organized a mail campaign to where I have something to open every single day.  They have taken turns sending care packages with cards, gifts, candy and more.  How awesome is that?
  7. Rowdy.  He’s been with John & I through all of the major events of our life together.  He’s also a great napping buddy.
  8. Netflix.  Streaming Video!  It has been my friend on long days in outpatient and days on the couch.  If you don’t use it, you should.  Like right now, go sign up.
  9. Nurses.  A good nurse makes all of the difference in the world and there are a few that have helped me more than you can imagine.  You know who you are 🙂
  10. Books.  This year I joined a book club and read more books for pleasure than I probably have in the past decade.  I am thankful I have time to learn new things and enjoy a good book in a bubble bath.
  11. Coffee.  Yum.
  12. Blogs.  I am thankful for Google Reader that helps me stay updated with the blogs I follow.  I like reading about others that are going through some of the same things I am, it helps me feel less alone.
  13. Music.  I love discovering new music and sharing the music I love with others.  Lyrics help me express my feelings and I am thankful for the talents of musicians to help me with this.
  14. My Cleaning Lady.  I’ve mentioned before about how some of our friends are “lending” us their cleaning lady while they live  in FL for the winter.  I am SO thankful to have someone come help me with these things once a week.
  15. Dexter.  30 Rock.  Modern Family.  Weeds.  Conan.  Jimmy Fallon.  It’s Always Sunny.
  16. Cameras.  I am thankful for my camera which helps me capture all of the moments with my family and friends.
  17. Sushi.  Yum.
  18. Happy Hours.  Or really I just say getting together with my friends and their men, but I have such a fun time when we all have a chance to get a sitter and spend a few hours together.
  19. Facebook.  It’s a great way for me to see what’s going on with everyone and has helped me reconnect to some old friends.  It helps me pass time when waiting at all of my appointments.
  20. iPhone.   Music, games, email, internet, news…  I really couldn’t have waited hours and hours and hours without it.  I would have lost my mind.
  21. H.O.P.E.  I am thankful for the charity I’m involved in and all of the girls I’ve come to know through it.
  22. Hugs.  I’m a hugger and like how often a good hug can make things better, even if it’s just for a minute.
  23. Quick Showers.  Although at times I’ve struggled with losing my hair, overall it’s pretty cool to be able to take a shower and be ready to leave the house in 20 minutes.
  24. Sleeping Pills.  It’s not a secret that I like to sleep and without the aid of sleeping pills, I think it would be nearly impossible to get a good nights sleep.
  25. AKPsi.  This is the business fraternity I was in at SMS (or Missouri State).   This is where I met John and some of the best friends I have.
  26. Handicapped Parking.  Who wouldn’t love that, especially at the mall at Christmas time?
  27. Tastebuds.  A lot of cancer patients lose their appetite.  I’m not saying there haven’t been days that I haven’t felt like eating, but I have been thankful to not have just been dog sick and puking everyday.  They told me at the beginning that food would taste funny, especially meat, but that hasn’t been the case with me.
  28. I.H.S.  I’ve said before how my last job has shaped me.  They spent thousands of dollars training me, I got to go to Seattle, Miami, Chicago, Phoenix, San Fransisco and San Jose because of them and I met some of best friends through there.
  29. Prayer.  I am thankful for all of the prayers from all of you.
  30. Life.
6 thoughts on “Giving Thanks

  1. I loved you list of things you are thankful for. I am thankful and so proud to be your Mom. I am thankful that God hears prayers and answers them. I feel truly blessed to have you, John and Ryan in our lives.

Leave a Reply

