The Hickman is Coming Out

Yesterday morning I had an appointment to meet with Dr. Ellis.  We got out the calendar and planned the treatment schedule through January.  It’s mostly just pills but I do have to get two more lumbar punctures before the end of the year- November 23 and December 14th.  He is wanting me to start weaning me off of the pain pills soon so we talked about how we are going to do that.  He took me off a couple prescriptions and started me on a couple more.  He told me that I seem to have more bone pain than most people do, so just to be sure there’s nothing else going on, he’s going to have me meet with a joint doctor.  He seems to think that estrogen levels may have some role in that pain since all of the chemo makes those levels fluctuate.  The best news I heard yesterday is that I get to have the hickman (aka:  tube coming out of my chest) taken out!  I don’t have a date on that yet, but they are going to be calling and scheduling that soon.  I am so glad because Ryan has really taken notice the past few weeks.  He’s seen it before, but now he will move my shirt aside and say “Mommy sick, Mommy doctors”.  That means I will have to get IVs whenever I get chemo or need drugs for things like the lumbar punctures, which isn’t more than a couple times a month right now.  I got my handicapped parking tags renewed just in time for the holiday shopping season and got my flu shot too.  When I was leaving Dr. Ellis gave me a big hug and told me that he’s proud of me and I’m doing so good.  He’s a really sweet guy 🙂

Last Saturday night Ryan spent the night with John’s parents so we could go to my friend Dan’s 30th birthday party.  He had t-shirts made and a strict agenda for the night.  I had my first beer since all of this started (Boulevard Unfiltered Wheat) and when I told Dr. Ellis about it he said he would let me have one a month.  I said I wasn’t sure if I should have it with the chemo pills and he said, no, probably not.  So that means for the next two years I “probably shouldn’t” have anything alcoholic.

Today I had lunch with some friends:  Tom, Kayti and Heather.  I haven’t really felt that great all day, this morning I got sick and I’ve had a headache all day, I blame the flu shot.  When I got back I took a nap but it hasn’t really made a difference.  The home health people came and changed my dressing, hopefully for one of the last times!  John emailed me and said that the day care called him because Ryan was really congested.  He was running a 102.8 fever so John left work early with him and went to his parents house.  He is taking him to urgent care as I type.  Hopefully they can tell us what’s going on and my little buddy gets better soon!

We have an exciting weekend planned, Stacy is coming to visit from VA!  Her flight gets in on Saturday morning and she leaves on Monday.  I’m really looking forward to getting to hang out and catch up with her.

8 thoughts on “The Hickman is Coming Out

  1. What are you gonna do with it after they take it out? Stomp on it, turn it into some deranged bio-art… ;). Congrats on the positive vibes from your doctor, too.

    Hope Ryan feels better. Poor dude… Meemee sends hugs (and no teeth). 😉

  2. This is the best news!!! I am so proud of you!!! You don’t need alchol anyway! Hopefully the pain will go away soon! You are strong and a great fighter!!! Love You Rhonda

  3. Hey Laura, How awesome is that!!! Hickman coming out, a Boulevard Wheat, and lunch with friends. In two years, Marvin and I will buy you a case of it.

    Sorry to hear about Ry-guy. Do hope he feels better.

    Have fun with Stacy. Love you.

  4. Hooray! Sounds like lots of great things are happening 🙂 Hope Ryan is feeling better and have so much fun with Stacy this weekend!

  5. Glad the Hickman is coming out. Woohoo!
    That beer is bad for you…did he say no vodka? 😉
    Hope RyRy gets to feeling better soon and have fun with STACY this weekend!

  6. Awesome news! God is such a great Healer! We continue to pray for you and pray especially that you don’t ever have to see a Hickman or any such device ever again, AMEN! Blessings to you and your family… 🙂 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

