Come Together Benefit & Beginning Maintenance

We went home last weekend for the benefit my family and friends held for us.  I mentioned it in my last post, that my cousin Richie came up with the idea and it has been in the works for months.  It was a HUGE success and a lot of fun as well.  The grand total at the end of the night was $14,000, all of which will go to pay off medical bills.  What a giant weight off of our shoulders, to not have to worry about bills on top of everything else.  I wish I could find the right words to sufficiently thank everyone involved.  It was a lot of hard work and time that went into this event and we are just so very grateful.  Thanks to everyone who donated items and everyone who showed up to support us.  We are very blessed to have such a wonderful support system and I hope that everyone knows just how thankful we are.  We love you all.

Mom came back with us to help out for the week.  I went into the doctor on Tuesday morning at 8:30 for my labs to see if they were high enough to start maintenance and they were.

WBC: 3.1

Hgb:  9.1 (still low, but good enough)

Platelets:  268 (super high for me, yea!)

They told me to go check in at registration at noon and they should have a bed available for me on 5W by then.  I was told my LP (lumbar puncture or spinal tap) would be at 1:30.  Well, as things normally go we didn’t even get up to the room by then.   1:30 wasn’t set in stone I guess, it was more like 2:30 or 3 by the time they took me downstairs.  When I came back up I ordered some food because I hadn’t been able to eat all day.  I’d started the steroids that morning and they make me want to eat everything in sight.  I still had to lay flat on my back for an hour and still had to get some IV chemo.  I think we finally were able to leave the hospital a little after 5.

I’m feeling pretty good, just a little back/neck ache and some minor headaches.  Nothing I can’t handle.  I don’t have to go back to the doctor until next Tuesday for labs and then the Tuesday after to meet with the doctor.  It feels awesome not to have to go there several times a week!  I am now taking 9 pills in the morning and 5 pills at night, and that’s not counting any pain medication I take throughout the day.  I still have the home health people come over on Thursdays to change my dressing, but all-in-all, I think I’m really going to enjoy being on maintenance!

3 thoughts on “Come Together Benefit & Beginning Maintenance

  1. Congrats on a fun and successful benefit….AND on finally moving to maintenance!!! WOOHOO!!! God is such an awesome Healer! — 🙂 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

