Still in Remission!

Tuesday morning I had a bone marrow biopsy.  I get them after every round just to check, but of course it’s always stressful waiting for the results.  With my counts being so slow to recover, there’s always a bit of panic wondering if it’s because of something other than the chemo being hard on my body.

This was probably the 5th or 6th bone marrow biopsy I’ve had so  I’m something of an old pro at this point.  They have always worked the same… they do the procedure in the room, the RN gives me the drugs and whoever was with me was able to stay with me.  Well this one was a completely different experience.  They took me down to radiology, had me change into a gown, an anesthesiologist administered the drugs and knocked me out all the way.    If you remember my last bone marrow, it was a bit of a cluster so I had to wonder if that didn’t have something to do with these changes.  John went with me and when we were done we went to the Pasta House for lunch.  I was still really loopy from the drugs and wanted to eat everything on the menu  🙂  Our friend Chris hooked us up and supplied us with a giant pizza to take home so I wouldn’t have to cook that night.  I went home and slept off the drugs for a couple hours while John went back to work.

Wednesday night the doctor who did the procedure called to let me know that there were still no signs of leukemia in the sample!  yea remission!  Thank God!  He used a lot of big words to basically say that it looked good but my white count is still taking it’s sweet time to recover.

Yesterday morning I met with Dr. Ellis.  We started planning out the “maintenance” portion of the treatment.  I use quotes because maintenance sounds like it would be easier, and eventually it will be, but at first it’s still pretty intensive.  Next Tuesday I will go to his office for labs, once we get the green light I will go over to the hospital where I will get a lumbar puncture to administer methotrexate (aka. spinal tap with chemo) and then IV vincristine (more chemo).  I start taking a pill chemo which I will take for 84 days,  I have to go back on the super steroid and then once a week I take a different chemo pill.

Dog Days Are Over by Florence + The Machine.  This is a great song that to me represents being at a point where this won’t rule my life anymore.  Although I’m not quite there yet, I wanted to share.

The dog days are over
The dog days are done
The horses are comin’ so you better run

Run fast for your mother- run fast for your father
Run for your children all your sisters and brothers
Leave all your love and your longing behind.
You can’t carry it with you if you want to survive

I’m really excited for this weekend!  My cousin Dustin turns the big 3-0 on Sunday and he’s having a Halloween party.  My college roomie Karen is coming in from Nashville tomorrow.  We are doing a costume that involves all three of us and it’s going to be the best ever.   Maybe even better than Double Dare, better than a Clockwork Orange, better than my robot…

5 thoughts on “Still in Remission!

  1. You guys have always had the funniest costumes, so if it beats your robot AND Karen’s picnic blanket…I can’t wait to see this. 🙂

    PS, YAHOOOOOOO for the good news! Have an awesome weekend!

  2. WOOT, WOOT, YAY, and Praise the Lord for the great result! You are one tough cookie and the Great Physician is still large and in charge. We continue to keep you in our prayers for continued recovery and those costumes are awesome!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

