Round 5, Day ?

I am so off on my treatment schedule that I’ve lost count of what day I’m on.  Now I’ll have to start thinking of clever titles for my blog posts, like I didn’t have enough to worry about already 🙂   When we left off I was going to be getting chemo for 4 days in a row and we stuck to that plan.  Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday at 10 AM I was in outpatient for a couple hours.

Mom and Dad were in town when I finished on Friday.  That morning I had made some beef stew in the crock pot and by the time we got home it was ready.  It was pretty good if I do say so myself.  We napped and took it easy all afternoon and when John got off work we met him and little man at Red Lobster.  It’s that time of year… all you can eat shrimp.  It’s somewhat of a tradition to go to this, as many times as possible, while the promotion is running.  Dad will eat about 10 orders of the shrimp scampi.  John can eat an equal amount.  Most of the time this means we’re there for a couple hours and I bet we’d stay even longer if Ryan would behave.  That evening after Ryan went to bed, I fell asleep on the couch for a couple hours before I crawled into bed.  I was so tired.

Saturday after chemo I came back to the house to see my sister Pam there!  She was driving down to see my brother-in-law Bryan in Texas when she had some car trouble in Springfield.  I’m glad it was here she had the trouble instead of in the middle of nowhere in Oklahoma.  Dad and John changed a spark plug and it seemed to be doing ok so she continued on her way.  I was glad to here she made it there safely without any other problems.  Saturday night we went to the Harvest Home Festival at our church, St. Elizabeth Ann Seton.  We played some games, like the duck pond and bean bag toss and he had his first pony ride!  I will post some pictures later, I have yet to get them off of my camera.  We took Mom, Dad & Ryan back to the house, got Ryan settled in bed and John & I headed back up to the beer garden.  Shannon & Kevin were there along with some guys John went to high school with.  I did not partake in any of the beer, but it was a nice night to sit outside.

Sunday morning Mom & Dad left shortly after I left to go get chemo.  When I got home Ryan was napping, so John & I proceeded to nap for a couple hours too.  Sunday was John’s Mom’s birthday so we went over to Shannon & Kevin’s to celebrate.  They grilled some hamburgers and hot dogs, after we ate we sat outside and played with bubbles and a ball.  It was a nice afternoon.

Yesterday morning I had to go in for labs and surprise, surprise, my counts were low!

WBC:  1.2

Hgb:  7.7

Platelets:  35

Conclusion:  Do the neupogen shots M, T, W and get a blood transfusion.  I had another appointment in the afternoon at a different doctor… for my yearly appointment, if you know what I mean.  I was looking for an excuse not to go, but Dr. Ellis’ office told me I needed to go to that and I’d get the blood today.   So here I am, in outpatient, waiting to get my O+ blood.  I have tomorrow off and I go back in on Thursday morning to get more labs.  I’m still unsure if I’ll be getting a LP that day if my counts are high enough.  Look at me, being spontaneous!  According to the schedule on “An intergroup phase II clinical trial for adolescents and young adults with untreated acute lymphoblastic leukemia —  Delayed intensification (Course IV)” day 43 (where I am in the treatment schedule, not the actual schedule) calls for Vincristine and Asparaginase – two kinds of IV chemo. I will keep you all posted, but for now, it’s time to finish season 4 of Dexter.

2 thoughts on “Round 5, Day ?

  1. Sounds like you’ve been able to work some fun times into your crazy world. I’m thankful you have those bright spots and continue to pray always for your healing. Keep hanging in there…..love to read your posts! 🙂 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

