Round 5, Day 36

Last week’s treatment went well, I made it through without feeling too nauseous at any point.  Again, my chief complaint being no energy and achiness.   I got chemo through Thursday and that night Kayti and Heather brought dinner over and ate with us, which was very lovely.  Friday morning I went in to see what my counts were.  My Hbg or hemoglobin was right at 8, the normal range for a woman is 12-15.  I am almost always below 12 but they usually don’t transfuse until it’s 8 or lower.  So…  I spent all day Friday getting blood.  It takes a couple hours for the blood to arrive and then 2 hours for each unit and I always get two units.  I was there from 9:45 until 6 at night.  Friday night we just got some pizza and hung out at home.  One night last week I buzzed my hair since it’s starting to fall out again.  I left a little mohawk although I almost always wear a hat now.

John had to work on Saturday so I was to handle the little monster with the help of Shannon, who later in the afternoon came over to play.  Unfortunately, Ry-Guy had a little spill at daycare on Friday, he fell off some playground equipment outside and was not walking or putting any weight on his left leg.  I decided to take him to the Pediatric Urgent Care Saturday morning, John’s parents met me over there.  They took some x-rays of his ankle, it’s not broken, just sprained.  They said to just give him ibuprofen and he’ll let us know when he’s ready to walk on it.  Poor little guy has been crawling everywhere or we carry him.  He even got a little shiner.

Saturday night Ryan went over to John’s parents house for a few hours so we could go over to our friends Tom & Laura’s house for a BBQ.  Tom made ribs, brisket and pulled pork and I ate until I felt sick, it was so good.  It was really nice to hang out with them and catch up with a lot of people I haven’t had a chance to see in a long time.

The plan was that this week was to be a repeat of last week, meaning a lumbar puncture this morning.  I got to the office at 8:15 and found out that my counts were really crappy.

WBC:  .8  – I had even been doing the neupogen shots over the weekend, guess they haven’t kicked in yet.

Hbg:  8.8  – Only up .8 from getting 2 units of blood on Friday

Platelets:  37  – To get treatment platelets have to be at least 75.  I knew they were going to be low, I scraped my thumb yesterday and it bled a lot more than it should and I’ve had a little nose bleed.

I was surprised that I didn’t have to get platelets, Dr. Ellis said he just wants me to continue with the neupogen the next couple days and go back on Wednesday to see what my numbers are.  Low counts are expected since I’m getting chemo so often.  I really don’t mind to have a couple days off since I do feel just worn out, I just don’t want it messing with our schedule of when this round ends…

3 thoughts on “Round 5, Day 36

  1. Love Ryan’s robot shirt and hope his ankle feels better soon.
    Glad you have not been too sick feeling but keep resting up friend. Love you!

  2. The picture speaks volumes…..he’s such a cutie pie even when he’s looking rather pitiful. Glad to hear things are going pretty well so far. Keep hanging tough and hanging in there! We are continuing to pray for you!!!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

  3. Aw, he is so cute, I want to give him (and you!) a hug 🙂 Good luck with the next couple of weeks, I hope and pray I get to see you soon!

Leave a Reply

