Round 5, Day 28

I have had a break from chemo this whole past week and had decided I was going to take a little break from blogging as well.  Without treatment, there isn’t much to report on anyway.  I was hoping that a week off would translate into a week with a lot of energy and feeling super fantastic, but that wasn’t exactly the case.  I had to give myself neupogen shots until Thursday and the side effects of those cause achiness in my bones and muscles.  It hurt like hell the week before, but this week wasn’t as bad.  My main complaint is just the lack of energy and how it feels like my body, legs specifically, weigh 800 lbs.  It frustrates me to no end not to be able to move my body like I want to.

I did get to do some fun things this week like go to happy hour with my friends (still haven’t had a beer since February though…), had sushi and went to a movie with Dustin, Mom & Dad came and stayed one night, hung out Shannon, and just generally had a good weekend with John & Ryan.   I did a lot of cooking this weekend, which I enjoyed.

Dr. Ellis said this round was going to suck and so far it hasn’t been that bad.  I have a feeling that’s going to change tomorrow.  I have to get a lumbar puncture and 3 other kinds of IV chemo, plus start a chemo pill I’ll take for the next 14 days.  I should be able to do it all on 5W but get to go home tomorrow night.  I thought I was going to be taking 2 kinds of chemo pills, but it turns out one is an IV chemo I’ll have to go into outpatient for everyday this week.  Even if the LP goes well (meaning I don’t get a terrible headache), I always feel off for a few days after them so figuring out I have to go to outpatient everyday did not make me very excited.  Then the week after will be a repeat… At least John is taking off to go with me tomorrow, last time I had a day like that I was alone all day.

This is probably going to be the next few days…

4 thoughts on “Round 5, Day 28

  1. Hope the day goes well! If our schedule isn’t too busy I might sneak over and say hi. Thought of you Friday night…Gretchen and I met our friend Pinky over a Wayo and shared a huge plate of sushi and some adult beverages. 🙂

  2. Hey girly-girl,

    Here’s hoping your week goes better than planned. I am so happy to hear you had a great weekend with your boys and that you like to cook. That used to be the most stressful time of my day. 🙂

    Get well and come whip my 1st hour into shape. Love you all.

  3. Praying your week goes much better than the doctors predict. What do they know anyway??? The Great Physician is the one who is in charge! Hang in there….. 🙂 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

