Round 5, Day 8

Treatment has been going so far so good this round. Today I had to go into outpatient for two different kinds of chemo- vincristine and doxorubicin (that’s the one that will make me lose my hair again). I went into the office first for labs, which were all really high.

WBC: 33.6 *normal range tops out at 10.9*

Hgb: 11.4

Platelets: 247

In fact, the WBC was too high it caused me to be in pain today. Over the weekend I had given myself the neupogen shots to boost that number, but the side effects can be harsh. I cannot remember hurting so bad from the shots before, usually they just make me achy, but today I could barely walk. It could be that I stopped the super steroids for this week and the combination of that and a crazy high WBC make the middle half of my body vibrate and radiate with pain. Maybe I’m being a little dramatic… it hurts a lot, but at least that can be controlled by pain pills.

I don’t have another appointment until next Monday, and that’s a repeat of today. In the meantime I get to take a break from the super steroids which also means a break from checking blood sugar and giving insulin shots. The week off should mean better sleep, without grinding my teeth which often makes me wake up with a headache. Yep, should be a better week.

Tomorrow Ryan has his two year check-up appointment!  I’m excited to show him off to the doctor, maybe I can finally get some reassurance that we are, in fact, raising a little genius.

I have finished the books The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo and The Girl Who Plays With Fire with the last of the series waiting until I finish Watership Down, a book my cousin Drew got me.  It’s a little slow right now, but he reassures me it will hit it’s peak soon.  After those books I am looking for some more recommendations…. any ideas?

John and I got to have a date night on Saturday night, Ryan spent the night with Cindy.  We saw Inception, it was visually stunning but I’m still a little confused.  Anyone see it and have any thoughts on just what the hell happened?

8 thoughts on “Round 5, Day 8

  1. That chart made me laugh out loud so hard!!! Hahaha.. Were those dragon tattoo books good? Ive been wanting to read them! And I have plenty of recommendations.. First of all, have you read the Harry potter books?

  2. Thanks Clay! Yeah, I read the first 3 Harry Potter books way back in the day but stopped after that. I still have those and those would be quick reads to go through again. 🙂

  3. Or as my mom always said “I thought you were dead in a ditch.” Why was I in a ditch? Laura I am in the middle of the last book The Girl Who Kicked The Hornets Nest…very good. Also here are a few – The Girl With the Pearl Earring, Catch 22, I Know This Much Is True, The Politician. Let me know if you need more. Love ya and miss you!

  4. I’ve never seen this Goodreads site until now…what a great idea. I still think you’d enjoy Kurt Vonnegut, and I’d recommend starting with Breakfast of Champions.

  5. I saw Inception on Saturday night too. Lets see – It was confusing, but I think I have it figured out…I dont want to give it away here.

    Secret Life of Bees? Anything by Wally Lamb? I havent read much since Twilight. 🙂

  6. Haven’t seen the movie, Inception, so I can’t help you out there. These days I have my nose stuck in textbooks, but will keep my ear to the ground for good read recommendations from friends! Praying for you always and in awe of your tough and positive spirit! 🙂 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

