More Platelets & Impending Bone Marrow

I had an appointment this morning to see what my counts were to determine whether or not I would need to get a bone marrow biopsy after this round of chemo.

WBC:  1.7

Hgb:  8.6

Platelets:  12

While they are slowing creeping up, they are still not fantastic so Dr. Ellis said we need to do a bone marrow.  He said “I still think it’s from the chemo, but we just need to make sure”.  Chemo makes your counts go down, so hopefully that’s the only reason they are so low.

I’m kind of scared for this one, both from the physical pain and for the results.  The first two I had to get weren’t that bad, but this last one I got pretty much hurt like hell.  So I’m asking for prayers that it goes smoothly and the results tell me I’m still in remission.  I go in at 8AM, but it will probably be around 10 before it actually goes down.  I wanted to do it on Wednesday since tomorrow night John has a work dinner, but Dr. Ellis didn’t want to wait.  I’m hoping by having the afternoon to rest we will still be able to go, I’ve never met any of John’s co-workers and I’ve been looking forward to it.  I will just be walking around like I had a giant drill in my hip earlier in the day, I’m sure that will impress them.

I’m worried and anxious about tomorrow morning so I just keep telling myself…

After my lab results this morning, it was determined I needed platelets.  I could have determined that from looking at my arms and stomach, which both look like I’ve been beaten from all of the bruises.  I got a break for lunch so I went to my friend Kayti’s house for a little bit, which was great because I haven’t really seen or talked to her in a while.   I am now currently back at outpatient getting ready to get the platelets, which take about 45 minutes from the time they get them started.

We have no plans for the evening, I got all of the cleaning and laundry done yesterday and John got the lawn mowed so we can just relax and play with the little man.

13 thoughts on “More Platelets & Impending Bone Marrow

  1. Everything will go great tomorrow!! Keep kickin butt and staying positive. Big, fun weekend coming up. Can’t wait to see you.

    PS…I already printed out the paperclip and have it hanging at my desk 🙂

  2. I’m sure it is just the chemo and best to make sure!! I’ll definitely say a little extra pray for you tonight. Hang in there!! You are doing an amazing job!!

  3. Of course I’ll be praying hard and spreading the word to my family. You’ll be great and I hope you get to go to the dinner tomorrow night. Thinking of you-joj

  4. Hey girly-girl,

    Who says you gotta keep your sh** together? Man, you are the toughest girl I know.

    We prayed for you in class today and will again tomorrow before finals 🙂

    Wish I could hold your hand tomorrow. Love you.

  5. Praying here too, Laura. Trusting the Great Physician to do what He does best……heal! He’s also good at protection so I’m praying that also…especially for protection against pain. You’re a tough one, but remember you have people out there who are supporting you with their love and prayers. Blessings and Peace…:)

  6. I will be praying for everything to go smoothly tomorrow, and then also praying that they serve something delicious for dessert at the dinner party tomorrow night. 🙂

  7. I’ll be thinking of you. I am so impressed with how you have carried yourself through this – I’m not sure I would have your resolve.

    P.S. – I love the little cartoons you put on here!

  8. Laura, Dad and I are praying all the time. You are loved so much. Praying the test itself is not as painful and the results are GREAT.

    Love, Mom and Dad

  9. a little late on my reading…but you are in my thoughts and prayers this morning. you are a superstar!! xoxo, JG

Leave a Reply

