2B: Days 23 & 24

Yesterday was supposed to be a “day off”, one where all I have to do is give myself the neupogen shot and take my normal, although massive, amounts of pills I have to take in a day. I called the Wal-Mart pharmacy in the morning to make sure my neupogen shots were ready to pick up and she said that my insurance wasn’t covering it.  She had to do some investigating so she would call me back.  I was feeling pretty energetic so I swept, vacuumed & put away Ryan’s clothes.  In that time, Wal-Mart called me back and told me they got it straigtened out and that I needed to go to St. John’s (the other hospital in town) to pick it up.

I went to lunch with Amy then I went to St. John’s.  After a long walk, I get to their pharmacy only to have them tell me that my insurance isn’t covering it, that they had previously done a “one-time override” to get it filled locally, otherwise I had to use a mail-order pharmacy…. or pay $4,000 to pick it up right then.  Sure, let me just get out my checkbook.  I called my Dr’s office to let them know my insurance was being stupid and that I’d need orders to go into outpatient to get the neupogen shot there instead of in the comforts of my own home.  We went to the mall to walk around while I was waiting for them to call me back and I ran into Cindy and my friend Erin.  I found some lobster swim trucks for Ryan so he can do “water day” at Prime when it starts getting warmer.  🙂

I heard back from the Dr’s office and went into outpatient.  It took about 30 or 40 minutes to get my shot and I was on my way.  I went to the post office to mail Stacy the Tiffany necklace she won from the Relay raffle, then went to the grocery store to get things to make dinner that night.  I got home and made a big dinner for my boys…  Tri-tip, corn on the cob and asparagus, all on the grill.  After dinner I cleaned up, got Ryan to bed, then later that night put away a couple loads of laundry.

It felt like a normal day, a day before any of this happened.  Even though I was worn out, I felt good because I got a lot accomplished.  I always feel better when I have mark things off a to-do list.  check.  check.   But for some reason I haven’t been sleeping very well lately, even when taking sleeping pills and other drugs that are supposed to help me relax…  I was up until 4 AM last night.  One night last week I was up until almost 3.  I don’t know where this insomnia is coming from, but it needs to go back.

Today I get to mark  “going to the DMV” off my list of things to do, I need to get our tags renewed.  From there I will head back to outpatient for my shot.  It’s another exciting day in the life of Laura!  I’ve been stressed for the past couple days over several different things, some days just feel like this…

BUT… We’re nearing the end of 2B, tomorrow is my last day of treatments in this round!  I’ll get a whole week off from any kind of chemo and will have several friends in town on Memorial day weekend.  I always need to have something fun to look forward to, and seeing friends is always one of them.

Finally the most important part of my post today… My cousin Amy has had MS for 13 years, she is married with two beautiful boys.  Her husband Gary is participating in the MS Mud Run – a 10K race with a series of boot camp style obstacles that have been surrounded by or even made entirely of MUD!  It’s on June 26th and he is the middle of trying to do some fund raising.  I know I’m always hitting you all up for different charity events, but I personally think it’s important to give back.  Think of the money you’d spend on Starbucks, a movie, fast food, whatever… What’s 5 or 10 bucks to help out someone?

Please click here to donate to the National MS Society and support my cousin Gary in his efforts to raise money for the MS Society!

3 thoughts on “2B: Days 23 & 24

  1. I LOVE the “turtle sans shell” cartoon. Totally appropriate for me as well today! I am in awe of all that you are able to accomplish with everything that you have on your plate, and still you press on to give back! There are so many “users and takers” in this world. You are truly a breath of fresh air, and I mean that with my whole heart. Blessings to you and your family!!

  2. hmm…maybe its all this stress that is messing with your sleep. try some meditation before bed time? sleep shades? have you done back to the message lady?

    hope you have a wonderful week off. and a great weekend for memorial day. wish i could be there but woof.woof. calls for me to stay in kc.

    i’ll be coming around the mountain soon!

  3. Laura,

    With all you have going you are such a dear to mention and support Amy and Gary with the MS race. You are appreciated and more of an inspiration than you know. Both you and Amy encourage me every day. I was proud to wear the Survivor shirt with you and I will wear the Amy’s Heros shirt for her, only I want mine to say Amy’s Mom.
    Sounds like you are finding things to be grateful for each day. God will provide, just look for his winks.

    Love you lots,

Leave a Reply

