2B: Day 18 and Relay for Life, Springfield Edition

I haven’t blogged in a few days because we’ve been either really busy or being really lazy when we’re not being busy.  Thursday I had to go to the dr’s office for labs, then down to outpatient.  My numbers were really, really low… again.

WBC:  .3
Rgb:  8.8
Platelets: 5

I got platelets and chemo on Thursday and probably could have received blood too, but they decided to wait.  My doctor had given me a prescription for pre-measured single use neupogen shots that I can give myself at home.  You normally don’t take neupogen on the same day you get chemo, but he told me to start the shots on Thursday night and to keep doing them all weekend.  I have to do this shot in my stomach, it really isn’t that bad and definitely beats having to spend my time going to outpatient to get it.

Friday morning Ryan slept in really late, so John and I got to rest up for the Relay that night.  They ended up moving this one indoors which is a good thing because the middle of the football field would have been a swampy, marshy mess.  Ryan went over to John’s parents house to have a sleep over with Cashel (Amy brought the older kids to Relay and they camped out), John’s Dad sent us this picture.

This event was on a much, much larger scale than the one in Festus last weekend.  There were hundreds of teams and every booth was selling something to eat or offering chances to win something, it was like a carnival!  My nurses from Cox had a team (there is a picture of a couple of them below) and I got to see them outside of the hospital, which was nice. Through them a met a nice lady (Kristi, I believe) and her family; she also has ALL.  I think she’s the first person I’ve met who has the same thing I do.  It was nice to talk to her for a while and share our experiences.

They also had a van that had “cancer” spray-painted all over it.  John, and my friends Tom and Kayti and I all paid to take a sledgehammer to it, there are a couple pictures of that below.  I didn’t get a good picture of our whole team, which I regret.  But I do thank everyone who participated, especially our team captain Amy.  Thanks everyone!  We did a raffle for another Tiffany necklace and the winner of this one…. Stacy!!  Woo hoo!

We made it until around 11:45 and since John’s parents had Ryan, we got to sleep in again on Saturday morning!  We had some errands to run so we did that before we picked little buddy up later that afternoon.  John & I have been watching “America: The Story of Us” on the History Channel so we settled into bed at around 8:30 on Saturday night to do that.  Yes, 8:30 pm on a Saturday night.  The History Channel.  Oh how times have changed.

John had to work today and so around 11 this morning Cindy came over to help me wrestle him all day.  I can’t do it by myself.  Even if I were well I think it would wear me out to keep up with him all day.  That is really the hardest part of all of this, admitting I need help talking care of my kid.  Thankfully we have a wonderful group here to help us!  Now, my plan is take a bath, read and go to bed early.   I have to get chemo again tomorrow and I’m sure my counts will be low and it will take all day.

4 thoughts on “2B: Day 18 and Relay for Life, Springfield Edition

  1. Thank you for sharing the photos of the relay. And especially the picture of those 2 handsome little guys. Love it. Some time when you have a minute would you please call me? I have a story to tell you. Still in my thoughts and prayers. Love, Nin

  2. Laura,
    Thinking of you. Sending love your way. Take it easy. Save your energy to give love to Ryan and John, not laundry and cleaning. [end of lecture] Have a good day.

  3. Loved the pics of the boys, and you swinging that sledgehammer was really awesome! With your numbers being so low, I’m doubly impressed. Continuing to keep you in prayers here!!! 🙂

    PS — Aunt Phyllis sounds like a pretty smart lady! 😉

  4. Hey Laura girl,

    Just to say I love you guys… I agree with Aunt Phyllis. The dust will be there later, just ignore it and rest. If you need lessons in ignoring dust and laundry, I’m right here for you… 🙂

    We’ve been watching Pacific on Sunday nights. Its over now and we will miss it.

Leave a Reply

