Kansas City & 2B

Saturday evening a little after 5 I started heading towards Kansas City.  I wasn’t going to make the voyage by myself, but it worked out that way.  I already had it in my head that I was going, so off I went.  The drive wasn’t bad, it always seems to go by much quicker than the drive to STL.  Maybe it’s because I don’t do it as often and the scenery is a little different.  I got to my cousin Drew’s place a little after 8.  His girlfriend Amanda went with us as we headed to Blanc Burgers + Bottles, an amazing little burger place on the Plaza.  I should have got a burger, but instead decided upon a salad.  I tried a little sample of both of theirs and they were pretty much amazing.  And then there were the truffle fries that come in a little shopping cart… I took a picture, but it didn’t turn out that great.  After dinner we went to a loft that Amanda rents for her business Dollface Aesthetics to see her studio space.  What a cool place, a bunch of different kinds of artists share this loft,  such creative minds all around.  If you’re in KC and in need of some pampering or Mother’s Day gifts, you should contact her!

Sunday afternoon was the day of my friend Joanna‘s wedding shower!  She is getting married this June in Lincoln, NE, which is coming up so quick!  The shower was at my friend Stacy’s parents house, her mama Leslie is a frequent commenter on the blog 🙂

It was so wonderful to see all my girls, from all over the country- VA to CA.  It’s such a blessing when we can all get together, even if it’s just for a few hours.  I hope Lil’ Joj had a fun weekend, I know I did 🙂

While I wasn’t there, I also wanted to give a shout out to my cousin Brian and one of my besties Karen for finishing a half marathon in Nashville this past weekend.  The marathon goes to benefit the LLS, which I’ve talked about several times on the blog.  I’m very proud of them, good job guys!!

This morning I got the call to come into my doctors office for labs, then to be admitted.  I got to the office around 9:30 AM and finally talked to Dr. Ellis around noon.  I don’t know exactly what my counts were, but my WBC was somewhere in the 4.5 ballpark and everything else looked good.   I got over to the 5th floor of Cox around 12:30 and waited around to get the lumbar puncture.  Last time I did it, it was the worst day I’ve had.  They did not give me any sort of drugs besides a local and I wasn’t going to let that happen this time.  I talked to Dr. Ellis and made sure we had a plan to give me some “happy drugs” this time.  Around 3:00 I went down and had the procedure done.  This time they took some of the spinal fluid to take for testing, just to make sure that cancer hasn’t spread to any parts of my brain or spinal cord (eeckk!).  When it was done I had to lay flat on my back for a while and was finally allowed to eat and drink.  It was 5PM before my wonderful hospital chicken strips arrived, which I can say is the longest I’ve gone without eating for a long time.  Hungry Laura + No Food + Waiting all day = Grumpy Laura

This evening John came to visit for a couple hours, we just layed around and watched the Cards game.  The room I’m in this time only has one bed and a couch.  There’s a desk and a lamp, it’s much more like a really crappy hotel room than a hospital room.  Even at that, it’s a much better feel.  Plus I think it helps that I don’t have to be attached to the IV pole, there were no fluids ordered.  The last time I was in for 5 days I had that thing attached to me constantly and I think I’ve nailed down that’s what I really hate about being in here.

I already know tomorrow is going to be a good day because Sara is coming and I should get to go home!

5 thoughts on “Kansas City & 2B

  1. So good to see you! I think Leslie and I will be coming down soon. Aren’t the truffle fries just amazing! I can eat the whole basket. I am glad they took you there and the salads aren’t bad either. Have a good night! Glad it’s a short stay.

  2. It sounds like you had a great weekend in KC! I am so happy for the time you had with your friends!! Glad you won’t be in the “hotel” very long this time…I am thinking of you!

  3. Soooo thankful your trip to KC was both a safe and fun visit! Thinking about you and keeping those prayers going. Hope you get to go home soon….hang in there! 🙂

  4. Glad you got to go KC! I’m sure the girls were excited to see you. I’m jealous of them but can’t wait to get to hang out with you for myself.
    And I’m back to practically walking like normal again today. 🙂
    Love you lady.
    KG

  5. It was good to see and chat with you Laura! It goes without saying that I think of you often and will keep sending you positive vibes.

Leave a Reply

