The End of Round 2A

I haven’t blogged the past couple days and I think that’s a good thing.  To me, that means there wasn’t a whole lot going on treatment wise.  Mom & Dad were here this weekend and left on Sunday afternoon.  John was at work so Cindy came over to hang out with me & Ryan in the afternoon.  I had an appointment with my friend Stephanie at 4 to do something that would fall right in line with my New Years resolution, trying something new.

Stephanie does Healing Touch and Sunday we had our first session together.  I was so relaxed I am still not sure if I was awake or asleep.  If you’re not familiar you can read a little about it here, but in a nutshell:

Healing Touch is a biofield (the magnetic field around the body) therapy that is an energy-based approach to health and healing.

Healing Touch uses touch to influence the human energy system, specifically the energy field that surrounds the body, and the energy centers that control the energy flow from the energy field to the physical body.

We are going to do sessions every couple weeks, if not weekly.  I am so excited to learn more about the technique, chakras and how energy flows through your body.  Thanks Stephanie!

Yesterday was a “normal” day for me & Amy.  She brought the boys over in the morning for their naps.  When they woke up we had a nice afternoon of shopping at the mall!  We were unstoppable with the boys in the strollers, juice boxes in hand.  I was after a dress and some makeup and was successful in finding those things and not spending money on other things.

My friend Krystal brought over tacos for dinner.  I told her I felt guilty in that I had  enough energy to go shopping, but she was still making and bringing dinner over.  It was very good and once again, thank you!  After dinner we met Amy, the kiddos and Shannon & Kevin at the park.

Ryan really can’t get enough of the slide.  When you ask him about it, his face just lights up 🙂

Today is the last day of treatments in the second round (2A).  I had to be at Dr. Ellis’ office at 8:30 this morning to get labs before coming down for my last dose this go ’round.  Here are my labs for the day:

WBC:  3.9

Platelets:  270,000

Hgb:  13.4

I was finally out of there at 1PM.  I left for an hour in the middle so it wasn’t exactly ALL waiting, but pretty much.   I met my friends Diane and Linda for lunch.  I haven’t seen Linda in months and it was great to see her and catch up.

Friday I am set up for a bone marrow biopsy and then Monday I will begin the third round (2B) which is just a repeat of the second round.  That means next Monday the 26th I will be admitted to the hospital and have to get a spinal tap.  Hopefully it’s just one night in the hospital, we’re keeping our fingers crossed we can do the rest outpatient.

I also have a meeting set up at Barnes Hospital in STL on May 7th.  We are meeting with Dr. Westervelt and will learn more about what comes next as far as a transplant surgery.

9 thoughts on “The End of Round 2A

  1. So glad you’re done with 2A, and I’m crossing my fingers and toes for the same amazing biopsy results as last time. In the meantime, you just keep taking that precious boy to the slide. 🙂

  2. Hey Laura girl,

    You just keep letting people pamper you. You deserve it and it makes them feel like they are doing something really productive through your ordeal.

    Praying for great results, girly-girl.

    Love you.

  3. Yeah, congrats on completing this session. Ummm, just in case you were wondering I work within walking distance of BJH…. May 7th, I’ll be free!

  4. glad things are going good. just give me a holla to set something up. we can do it sunday the 25th if you’d like. xoxo

  5. Will be continuing to keep you in our prayers for a good meeting with the BJC people. Praise God that you are doing well and thanking Him in advance for your complete and total healing!

Leave a Reply

