2:3

Today was the worst day of treatment so far.  Last night I didn’t get to sleep until around 1:30 or 2AM, then they do vitals at 4AM and 7AM.   They wheeled me down to get the spinal tap or lumbar puncture (L.P) around 9AM.  Usually before any kind of chemo I get some pre-meds, at least nausea medicine, but I got nothing before this.  No pain meds in my IV like I had with the bone marrow biopsies, just a local to numb the area before they started.   The procedure just involved placing the needle in and injecting the chemo, it only took about 15 minutes.

I didn’t have to lay flat on my back for 4-6 hours like they told me yesterday, just an hour and then trying to lay as much as possible all day.  One of the side effects of the L.P.  is a headache, I woke up with a headache and feeling pretty sore all over so this did not help matters.  I tried to lay flat and listen to some music and relax, but it wasn’t working out so well.  I didn’t get any pain meds until around noon.  I ordered lunch but didn’t eat anything but the green beans.  I got sick around 2, then took a shower.  I felt better after that.

I spent the afternoon reading and dozing, John stopped by after work and brought Imos.  I did not want hospital food tonight, that’s for sure.  I feel a lot better now and am fighting off sleep so I can *fingers crossed* go to sleep early tonight.

Here are my labs for the day:

WBC:  3.6

Platelets:  193,000

Hbg:  8.4  *I got a couple units of blood today

In the morning I should get my one chemo shot then be discharged.  I cannot wait to get home and see my baby and sleep in my own bed again.  Even though today was a rough day, I am feeling good knowing I get to go home tomorrow!

11 thoughts on “2:3

  1. So sorry to hear about your rough day… 😦 *hugs*

    I love your picture… at least you don’t have to live your life like broccoli ice cream!

  2. So sorry that today was a rough one for you, Laura! Praying for a better tomorrow for you. I know it will be good just to get back home to your own bed and your family. Hang in there and God Bless You!!!

  3. In my head, it’s always J-Dub narrating the cartoons. 🙂 I’m glad today is over and done with and proud that you handled it like a champ. And I’m sorry that I blacked out and accidentally addressed your CoxMail to Laura Beth Sampson and because of that, it didn’t get delivered to you.

  4. Glad today is behind you…hate that it was such a rough day. Hopefully you will get your shot early in the morning and then home to your boys…or at least boy until the other boy gets off work. Love you and think about you everyday!!!!!

  5. Laura, I hate that you had a horrbile day. I’m so glad it’s behind you. You have such a great outlook! I pray that today is great!

  6. Laura,
    I have been a lurker on your blog. Watching your progress, keeping you in our prayers daily. I have been amazed by your courage, strength and grace.

    God gives us life. It is not always perfect, not always what we envisioned. It is how we deal with what LIFE throws at us that makes it beautiful and worth living. You are so blessed…with good family, good friends and good faith. Stay strong. You have an army of people who love you and are praying for you.
    God Bless you,

    Jeanne (Joanna’s mom)

Leave a Reply

