Bone Marrow Biopsy #2

The night went fairly well. I went to sleep around 11 and only woke up once in the middle of the night because of the pain in my legs/ankles/body. This is because I kept the pain pills on my night stand and took about twice as many as I had been, per instruction of the doctor. But 5:45 AM… I made it to the kitchen to take the rest of my morning pills (including my 10mg of steroids) and could only make it as far back as the couch before my legs just wouldn’t work anymore. I would have crawled down the hallway before I called John if I were physically able to do so. I called him to help me walk down the hallway and he even had to help me in and out of the bathtub (bath=only form of pain relief). I was shaking from pain, but also because I was just so pissed off that I couldn’t do it myself.

My sister-in-law Amy (wherein will now only be referred to as “Amy”) picked me up at 7:20AM to head over to Cox South outpatient center to get my bone marrow biopsy test done. By this point I was able to walk, but still a little 80-year-old-lady’ish. I had the same test done on Feb. 24th so at least this time I knew what to expect. It was a much, much more organized process than the day before. 🙂 I had already taken my pain pills for the morning, they gave me two Valium, a shot of morphine into my Double Hickman (chest tubes), and local shots to numb my right hip. Needless to say, I didn’t feel a thing and even had the doctor show me the needle they use and what it looks like when it’s collected in it’s vial. Maybe I should have gone into medicine…

To celebrate being done with the first round of treatments, we had lunch with Kayti, Diane and Tom at UMI! (Today I had the spicy crab & geisha roll) Have I mentioned that I love sushi? From there I’ll give you one guess as to where we needed to stop… I’ll take the Wal-Mart Pharmacy for $400 Alex. Ding, ding, ding!
I now have a prescription for morphine. If that doesn’t get me through tonight, I don’t known what will. Amy took me back to the house around 2:30. John was at work and Ryan was with him. Prime has childcare available on-site and in another act of generosity that is unmeasurable, they are letting us enroll Ryan and use it as needed. Today was a perfect day for his first trial run of the day since a bone marrow biopsy can leave you a little sore and that would give me a little time to relax in the afternoon. This means I had 3 hours at my house by myself. Today marks one month that this has been going on and that was the first time I’d been in my own house by myself. Of course if you know me, you know I cleaned and wrote thank-you cards and didn’t relax, but it was still magical. Our neighbors Jeanie and Terry brought down a roast, burgers, salad, chocolate cake. It was really, really good and I didn’t stress over making dinner so I was very thankful for that. FYI: Ryan’s first day went really well. He used a marker on a coffee filter and I found sand in his shoes. He didn’t nap on his little cot, which he will learn to do, so in the meantime day care day means early bedtime.

I was told that we should find out the results of the bone marrow test by Thursday. The results would be that either I’m in remission or I’m not. As I mentioned in earlier posts, it doesn’t change the course of the treatment plan. I am still being admitted back to the hospital on Saturday to begin the second round of chemo and that will still take 25 days, with only the first 4 being inpatient. I will still talk to the folks at Barnes to make sure that we kick this in the long run, but just in case you were interested…
Dr. Ellis called earlier and said that I am in remission. 🙂

Update:  I got information about my labs from that day so I just wanted to add those in so I have record:

WBC:  11.2
Platelets:  165
Hgb:  11.1

22 thoughts on “Bone Marrow Biopsy #2

  1. Yes! What great news from your doctor. I am sorry you are having to endure so much pain right now, but hopefully you will get through the rest of the treatments at least with the knowledge that you are in remission and actively beating that Leukemia!

    Keep hanging in there! Prayers are going up to say thanks and keep it up God!

  2. PRAISE GOD!!!! This news makes my day….no…it makes my entire week!!!! Have been praying hard for you and shedding tears of joy now. Great news and congrats to you, Laura. I’m not gonna stop praying either…thanking God and praying for continued healing. Don’t have to tell you that remission is HUGE!!! Hang in there…..lots of people love and care about you! 🙂

  3. THAT’S WONDERFUL!!! I’m literally sitting on the couch crying because I’m so happy for you!!!! What wonderful, wonderful news!!

    Really hate to hear about all the pain you are having. Hopefully being in remission will help that pain go away sooner rather than later!!

    Keep up the good work!!

    Love you bunches!!!

  4. THAT’S WONDERFUL!! I’m literally sitting on the couch crying because I’m so happy for you!! What wonderful, wonderful news!!!!

    I hate to hear about all the pain you are in. Hopefully being in remission will make all the pain go away sooner rather than later!!!

    Keep up the good work!!

    Love you bunches!!!

  5. This gave me chills and tears…the HAPPY kind! I couldn’t be more happy for you…congrats! Now go get a good night’s sleep 🙂 YAY!

    Love,
    joj

  6. Oh Laura, I don’t know what to say! Other than hip hip hooray and thank you God! Remember what we talked about? This round will be icing on the cake! I’m so happy for you guys right now! Hope you had a wonderful night’s sleep and that you’re feeling good enough to celebrate today. With cake. 🙂

    To a fellow never-sleeps-through-the-nighter, your text was the best 3AM news I have ever heard. Love you, sugar plum.

  7. Laura….I’m crying many happy tears for you. You’re such a rock star! Continuing to send you positive thoughts…Hugs!

  8. Laura, I’m overcome with emotion! I’m so glad God has answered our prayers. You are amazing!! I would like to drop off dinner for you on Thursday. Haruno’s! Call me on my cell 773-2716 so I can coordinate a time to drop if off. Again, I’m so happy for you!!!!

  9. Thank you, God!!!! I bet you were ecstatic, Laura!

    As the others have suggested, be happy and get some well deserved pain-free sleep with our best friend, Mr. Morphine.

    We love you.

  10. Laura, we are so happy for the good news. Amy and I can both relate to feeling and moving like an old lady. You may have more battles ahead but your strength and courage will serve you well. (It runs in the family) Love you much and will continue to hold you in our hearts and minds and prayers.

  11. That last part is A LOT of answered prayers!!! Not that I’m surprised though… we all know that LOWA knows how to handle these sort of things and kick it into absolute submission! Did Dr. Ellis say this is the first time anyone has EVER heard Acute Lymphocytic Leukemia cry for Uncle?!! =)

Leave a Reply

