Day 23- Saturday

Last night I fell asleep around 1:30 or so and woke up at 4 with my knees and elbows hurting. I was so excited to get off of the steroids so I could sleep that I sort of ignored the fact the doctor warned me I may feel a little achy due to the rapid weaning. I took a couple pain pills and went back to sleep for an hour or so before I decided to get up for the day around 5. I think I can confidently say I have never been up before both Mom & Dad on any given Saturday morning.

We had exciting plans at 9:30 AM – Ryan’s first haircut! You can read about that over at Baby Winstead, I want to try to to maintain separate blogs as not to have giant gaps in the blog I’ve been keeping since we found out we were pregnant… but I have to post at least one “after” picture:

After the morning excitement, Mom & Dad stayed home with a much more grown-up looking, napping Ry-Guy while John and I had lunch with his friend Jeff Berry who was in town from Ohio. I left the boys to have some fun for a couple hours while I went back to Wal-Mart to pick up more prescriptions to fill up my at-home pharmacy.

A little later in the afternoon my Aunt Saundra and Uncle Edward (who are also my Godparents) came to visit for a couple hours, it was very nice to visit and catch up since I rarely get to see them. A couple hours later I also had the pleasure of getting to spend time with Rhonda on her birthday! Rhonda is technically my cousin, but I call her my aunt. She is Dustin and Drew’s mom and I spent a large chunk of my childhood under her and Danny’s supervision. They too made the trip down to visit today and we all spent the evening playing with Ry-Guy and relaxing in the basement.

I am a lucky girl.

I am just overwhelmed by the amount of people who have shown their love and support for me. Words can’t even express just how much it means when one of your friends organizes all of your other friends to come together to give you something that means more than you’ll know. Thank you Aubrey for “Happy Scarves”. It’s just amazing.

Find a crazy scarf, one that reminds you of Laura, one that would make her laugh, one that you made…. What a wonderful gift to receive a box full of reminders of why your friends love you!

They are each so beautiful and special, thanks to all 🙂

While on the subject of amazing friends I wanted to tell Sara thanks for letting me vent for 5 minutes straight while you had a 5 minute break at work. And then for the balloons. You’re the best and Ryan had fun with them 🙂

I also wanted to share the story of what one of my best college friends Stacy has done. Since being the hospital, Stacy has sent me packages from VA containing small, dated cards that are only to be opened on that date. I keep them on a stack in my nightstand and every night I open my card, read it to John while laughing or crying, and file it away. I was given specific instructions to go out of order and open March 31st today. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Day 23- Saturday

  1. Laura I just wanted to thank you for sharing this blog with us all. It is so beautifully honest. Your attitude through this challenging time in your life is an inspiration to us all. The pictures you choose to post add the perfect touch to your road to remission story. I also wanted to let you know that I am a committee member for Relay for Life of Festus so if you, your family, or friends are interested in participating I can answer any questions you may have. Keep your spirits high and you WILL beat this! All my love and prayers.
    Lisa

Leave a Reply

