The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society

When I was at the Outpatient Center on Monday I had a “social worker” come by and tell me about different resources that are offered for patients. One of the the things she did was have me sign a form from The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society that allows them to send us a check for $150, just because of my diagnosis. I was very surprised to learn that money people raise/donate gets cut directly to patients to help cover costs for whatever they may need.

I’ve had lots of people asking what they can do to help. I have been telling people to donate blood and/or platelets, but there are other ways to get involved too.

There are local events you can participate in to raise awareness/ money, here is what the Luekmia & Lymphoma Society offers:
Team in Training: For you crazy people who like marathons, half marathons, triathlons, 100-mile century bike rides and hiking adventures.
Light the Night: Raise money during a leisurely walk carrying illuminated balloons – white for survivors, red for supporters and gold in memory of loved ones lost to cancer.

Relay for Life is another great organization, it is the big fundraising event for the American Cancer Society. At Relay, teams of people camp out at a local high school, park, or fairground and take turns walking or running around a track or path. Each team is asked to have a representative on the track at all times during the event. Because cancer never sleeps, Relays are overnight events up to 24 hours in length. I know some of my cousins have been talking about setting up a team this spring in De Soto,which would be awesome!

Please don’t take this blog post as me wanting you to do anything at all! I just was looking into ways to give back/ donate/ raise awareness and thought I’d share what I found. 🙂

4 thoughts on “The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society

  1. Hey There — Jill sent me the link to your blog so I hope you don’t mind me signing on. You are a gifted writer and you are an inspiring person! Just wanted to let you know we’re keeping you in our prayers and lots of people truly care!!

Leave a Reply

