Day 20

I was really, really hoping that fixing the insulin would fix the waking up in the middle of the night, but I guess it really is just insomnia. I went to sleep around 12:30 and woke up at 3:30. My blood sugar was low (54) so I ate a snack, but I couldn’t go back to sleep. A few nights ago I popped another sleeping pill when I woke up in the middle of the night (even though in the hospital they won’t give you more past 2AM) and was able to sleep in, so that’s what I’m going to try if it happens again tonight. I’m trying to eat a snack now that is high in protein – PB & Apples – so that my sugar may stay a little higher throughout the night.

This afternoon I took Mom to get her hair cut at the Paul Mitchell Hair School, it was a fun little outing and it looks good! We made some meals and didn’t do a whole lot of anything else, but I’m just so tired today. I guess it’s just the lack of sleep catching up with me. My friends Elisha, Sean & Jamie were planning on coming down tomorrow for the day, but I had to tell them I think I just have too much on my plate for one day. It makes me sad to admit I don’t think I have enough energy to do it all.

But I want to save all the energy I can because Ryan is coming home tomorrow morning!! Then, I have an appointment with my doctor tomorrow where we will talk about me getting off of the steroids. That is what causes the insomnia and insulin issues (which I haven’t had to give myself any insulin shots since Monday morning!). They will do some other labs and I will still have my scheduled outpatient chemo again for Friday morning.

7 thoughts on “Day 20

  1. Welcome home, most adorable baby ever! Seriously hope they can get this insomnia zapped! Looking forward to “seeing” you tonight, love!

  2. Laura,

    Here’s hoping for z-z-z-z’s tonight. If I woke up in the night, I would start praying for others…next thing I knew, bam…out like a light.

    Great news that Ryan is home and well. Love you.

    (Go Jayhawks)

  3. Rest up pretty lady! So happy to hear you have this insulin thing under wraps. I hope you have a great Dr. appt and better yet – get to hug your sweet baby boy and lots of kisses!

Leave a Reply

