Day 15 – Home Update

My counts this morning are even higher!

WBC: 14.2
Platelets: 69
Hbg: 9.8

I am currently getting my chemo and waiting for the doctor to officially give us the word that I am discharged today. I will be sent home with an instruction manual for how to take care of myself and will pick up half of Walgreens on the way home, but at least I will be HOME!

I will update this same post later tonight with the details and what we can expect in the upcoming days, but was too excited to not share now!

Update: When we got home around 2 the first thing Ryan did was run to me and take off my hat and put it on his head. (While I was getting discharged my friend Kayti brought two hats that were awesome!) The hat exchange went back and forth for a while and he didn’t even seem to notice that my hair was missing. I was afraid it would scare him or he would not know I was his Mama, but he didn’t skip a beat. It was so surreal and just so WONDERFUL to be back at our house. Ryan and I played for about an hour and then it was nap time.

John and I crawled into bed and I just couldn’t hold back the tears of happiness. My own bed, my husband by my side again, some sort of normalcy for a couple weeks. After I calmed down I took about a 30 minute nap, which is actually pretty good considering the past two nights I’ve only had about 4 hours of sleep each. I then decided I’d like to take a bath, aka. shave my legs. I made the executive decision that my platelets were high enough and I was careful. It’s a really weird feeling knowing I probably won’t have to shave again until I’m done with chemo, which could be months down the line. While I was doing that John went to pick up all of my million prescriptions (which we opted for Wal-Mart instead).

Mom, John, Ryan & myself wanted John’s parents, Amy & the kiddos, and Shannon to come over for celebration pizza. One, to celebrate the birthday of Amy & Jim (John’s brother) and two, me being home! We had a lot of pizza and a little bit of Beatles Rock Band.

I am praying that my own bed will make a world of difference with my sleep, so sweet dreams!

19 thoughts on “Day 15 – Home Update

  1. Half of Walgreens–lol!! Im going to buy some of their stock right now! 😉 Seriously, amazing news. Keep it coming! xoxo

  2. YAY YAY YAY YAY YAY! You are making amazing improvement & kicking it’s butt! You go girl! Enjoy your sweet baby at home & your own BED!!!! xoxo

  3. This makes me so happy!!! I’m so happy you’ll be at home with all of your boys this weekend (Rowdy Dog included). Just let everyone take care of you, love.

  4. Laura,

    This is awesome news. You are showing such great strides towards kicking this cancer’s butt. Keep it up! I will continue to pray for you and your family.

    Monica

  5. I’m so sorry to hear about all of this Laura, but I want to let you know I am inspired by your positivity and grace. You guys are in my thoughts and prayers.

  6. Hey there! I check out your blog every day before I go to work. You are a rock-star! You’re spirit and positivity these last couple of weeks just prove how you’re kicking this cancer’s butt! I am so very happy for you, John and Ryan getting to spend some quality time at home. You are in our thoughts and prayers every minute of every day! We love you!

Leave a Reply

