Day 13

Dr. Ellis talked with me this morning with some good news.  He said there COULD be a chance that I may be able to go home and MAYBE finish my last chemo treatment on the 19th as outpatient.  It all depends on how my levels are coming back up.   I am not getting my hopes up, but it’s good to know that could be a possibility.  What was even better to know is what comes after the last treatment.   I will get another bone marrow test, hopefully around the 26th.  No matter the results of that, we start another round of chemo, although we don’t have a start date on that (ballpark 29th?).  It’s pretty intensive as well, starting off with a spinal tap, but only requires me to be in the hospital on days 1-4 and 8-11 of treatment, instead of every day like I am now.   That makes me happy.

Labs for the day:

WBC: 1.2

Platelets: 29 (highest since I’ve been here)

Hbg: 8.6

However, if  12 is my lucky number, I guess it holds true that 13 is an unlucky one.   Since day 12 was such an awesome day I didn’t want to be a Debby Downer and mention that every time I ran my fingers through my hair, it was coming out in strands of 10 or so hairs in each hand.  Not chunks or clumps, but just the first noticeable traces of hair coming out.

I woke up at 5:30 this morning not able to go back to sleep.  I think I was excited because my best friend Sara was coming down for the day.  Then I chatted with my gal Patti (RN) for a while and we were getting emotional about a lot of different things which I guess sort of set the mood for the day.  But then came shower time.  I debated on whether or not I’d put this picture on the blog, but I guess I want to document it all, so here goes:

Sara didn’t know she was going to have to help me shave my head today. Surprise! She got into town around 12:30 and we had lunch from the Pasta House (thanks Chris!). We painted our nails and hung out for a couple hours in the afternoon before we decided to walk across the cat walk over National Ave to check out the Cancer Center. The gift shop there has head scarves and hats (I had ordered a few things online but they won’t be arriving at the house until early next week), and they also close at 4:30, the exact time we decided to arrive. We did a little window shopping, but I was just happy to leave my floor, even though I had to wear that stupid mask. I am not without some types of head coverings though, I got a scarf in the mail today from Laura J (college roommate) – great timing LJ! Also, last night when telling my RN Charity that my hair was starting to come out she brought me a really cute hat. On top of that, she found a scarf for me at the mall and brought it by on her day off. I would not be able to get through this if it weren’t for the awesome, awesome nurses and staff. They are all so wonderful.

So, it’s no wonder I broke down several times during the day today. I knew the day the hair came off was going to suck, but really it was just the anticipation of it that was the worst, because once we started, I felt a million times better. Mom came up a little after 5, John dropped Ryan off at his parents house, we ordered Imo’s (which they deliver directly to your hospital door), ate dinner, then the fun began.

We did mohawk, which John let me do to him too:

Then finally we just did the whole thing:

We blasted some Kings of Leon and had fun doing it. I’m so thankful of the timing of Sara’s visit, even though she wasn’t planning on staying as late as she did and I was worried to death about her driving back in tornado warnings. 20 years ago I never thought she’d be buzzing my head one day, but I am glad she was here to help me. 🙂

The good news, I think today is the low point, and it will only get better and easier from here. Thanks again for all of your love and support!

22 thoughts on “Day 13

  1. Laura, if this is your low point and you can still smile like that, just one more reason you are awesome. And thank you for doing a mohawk on your way to buzzville. What a great picture; just wish you had your guitar hero in the background! Look for me on Skype tonight!

  2. Laura,

    I am so very, very proud of you. You are such an amazing young lady. God answers prayers. You must have 95% of America praying for you. Can I see you next week?
    Love you. Leslie

  3. Laura, Obviously I should pay way more attention on FB because I just found out about all of this. I just read your entire blog and I am so amazed by you. I will follow on your blog and pray for you and your family every time I think of you. “Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the Lord your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.” Deuteronomy 31:6

  4. How do you do it?? You look hot with a bowl cut, a mohawk AND a shaved head!! So proud of you for getting through that. Only better days to come! Hope the scarf works for you, though I don’t think you need it….the shaved head rocks! LOVE YOU!

  5. Laura, you look so good!! I don’t know how you do it, but you are awesome! All I can say is you are one hot mamma!!!

  6. Hey Laura….Though obviously not the ideal reason to cut your hair, you really do look pretty cool. You guys look like you should start a band or something.

    Sending hugs and hug your mom for me too!

  7. I can’t say enough how gorgeous you look! I’m so glad you did the slide show. All of the pics are beautiful, but I especially love the one of John kneeling down in front of you as you buzz his head, too 🙂 It’s so touching.

  8. You look amazing. I mean seriously, you look really cute. Glad Sarah was there and you’ve even got John smiling in pictures. Love you Lowa! Thanks for sharing all of this…you’re the bestest.
    KG

  9. Laura,
    I’m so out of touch–I just saw this on fb today. Oh my gosh, is all I can say. I’m stunned. But I know that if anyone can handle this with class, strength, and dignity–it’s you!! You look so beautiful with a shaved head. You and your precious family are in my prayers. Stay strong; we all know you are!

    Lots of love!
    Ashley Schofield

  10. Laura,

    If this is your low point then you are even more amazing then I knew possible! Seriously, I’m sitting here crying because I was dreading this day for you but you look so happy!!!!! What a great hubby John is….I love his new look too.

    You are so beautiful, inside and out. I love you!

    Mel

  11. GOD! You are so BEAUTIFUL! and you rock that mohawk so well. But we have always know you are a rocker chick.

    I love to see your smiling face and see JW right next to you.

    Hugs and Kisses! And I am back in the office to send my jokes!

  12. Holy hell girl! You can pull off any hair style and look fantastic! Seriously! Also your postitivity through all of this just brought tears to my eyes. We can all learn from you. Keep it up love!

  13. I love love love all the pictures. I think my favorite one is where you are shaving John’s hair while you’re rockin your mohawk. I think the kissing mohawk picture is pretty amazing too. I think you should have shaved Joan’s hair into a mohawk. Ha Ha! I can’t wait to see you soon. And don’t forget I’m “On Call”. Kisses

  14. I must say, that look is working for you! Here I was worried you’d be bored? After reading your blog and getting caught up I can see that I was worrying for nothing, you have all kinds of family and friends hooking you up – good for you!! 🙂

  15. Oh baby, now we have something else in common.
    Love the hair, love the smile, love your courage and love the photos of you and John. Hope to see you soon. Love, Phyllis

Leave a Reply

