Day 12

Now that I think about it, #12 has always been my number so I should have known today would have been an awesome day.

I was planning on having lunch with my friend Kayti, getting some spicy, but not-too-spicy, pad thai. I was sitting here listening to some music and messing around on the computer when Kayti walks in with a couple of my old co-workers from IHS – Jason and Justin. Even hours later I’m still so shocked…

The gift from IHS: A brand new laptop – pretty much as cool of an entertainment laptop you can get, a 22″ LCD TV, antenna and $200 in iTunes giftcards. They walked in with all of this stuff and said, “Ok, where do you want it set up?”. I was pretty much just speechless the whole time they were here. I’ve said it before, but this just proves it, that place was like a family to me. Everyone I worked with has just been so wonderful and supportive and I can’t even begin to describe how much this means to me. Beyond generous. In fact, my heart rate was up so much all afternoon I had to get an EKG, just to double check my heart wasn’t freaking out for a different reason. It turns out I am fine πŸ™‚ But I don’t think I’ll ever be able to say thank you enough.

It was an off day for chemo, and here are my labs:

WBC: 1.3

Platelets: 13 – I did receive platelets today

Hbg: 9.1

When my WBC counts are so low, as I mentioned, flowers are restricted from the room. However, my dear little friend Joanna sent me a beautiful vase with a handmade, gorgeous flower I had to show off as well.

Later in the evening I got to spend some good time with Mom, Ryan & John. We snapped a few pictures of that as well:

And since was quite fascinated with the mask I’m supposed to be wearing:

And finally, the news I’ve been waiting for all night…. Brian and Jennifer (cousins) welcomed Baby Tyson into our beautiful world tonight at 10:55 PM. He weighted in at 7lbs and 4 ounces. Aunt Laura is so so happy for them and cannot wait to meet him.

14 thoughts on “Day 12

  1. I hope you have many days like DAY 12. How sweet of your friends from IHS! You are on my mind a lot (which translates into lots of prayers).

  2. Wow!!! Such good people….:) IHS is awesome!! Congrats on the addition to the family and so happy to hear you got some time with Ryan and John. Love you :). Day 12 was a good day!!

  3. That is so awesome Laura! You have a great second family at IHS. I’ve been thinking of you a lot. Hugs & prayers!

  4. WOW!! Congratulations!! I would have never expected that, guess that explains all the snooping. πŸ™‚ Thanks for the update on Brian and Jenn. I was wondering about them last night on my way home.

    Did Ryan enjoy the library?

  5. The flower is so creative, what a great idea! I just adore seeing pics of you and your little mini-me. He does look like he’s having a blast with that mask πŸ™‚

  6. What a great day, Laura! It appears you are much loved by all. πŸ™‚

    Please send my congrats to Brian if you get a chance.

  7. Hi Laura. I just got your link today and I’m so happy to be able to e-mail you. You have been in my prayers and I think of you all the time. I want you to know you look great and I want to kiss that little Ryan on those cute little cheeks. I’m so glad Joan is able to come and stay with you. She’s a great mom. And what an awsome support system you have! So many family members and friends. I’m sure the prayer chain is endless. Keep smiling and stay strong. We love you!!!!!

  8. Laura,

    You look great and I love your pictures. I have been following you every step of the way, now I expect the very best from you with all that up-to-date equipment. Coool!

    Amy

Leave a Reply

