Day 11

Last night my nurse gave me a new type of sleeping drug – Restinal. Ahhh Restinal, I think I love you. It was 11 o’clock and I couldn’t keep my eyes open. After I had several hours of solid sleep and my RN Melissa came in to take blood and I can sort of remember telling her that I wanted to give her a hug because that’s the best sleep I’ve had since I’d been here. I got more platelets this morning so she came back in at 5AM to give me Benadryl (sometimes the platelets give me hives) and some pain pills since my jaw is still very sore. The platelets arrived at 6 AM so that’s when I got up and felt fantastic!

Most of you know that I’ve been involved with a local kids charity called HOPE Sertoma. I built the website and since I’ve been here I’ve been wanting to do the maintenance that is needed for the site. So by 7 this morning I was caught up on that and it feels good to check that off my to-do list!

One of the other things I have on my daily to-do list is to bother my friends who have jobs and are supposed to be working 🙂 I am on instant messenger almost all day so when I get bored I interrupt them and have funny conversations, like this one with Karen (college roommate):

[11:48:08 AM] Laura Winstead: it’s a lot like a dorm room

[11:48:10 AM] Laura Winstead: with dorm food

[11:48:17 AM] karengoodner: haha

[11:48:19 AM] Laura Winstead: except you can’t go to the cafeteria to eat

[11:48:22 AM] Laura Winstead: and you can’t leave

[11:48:29 AM] karengoodner: and you get naps like college!

[11:48:40 AM] Laura Winstead: and instead of tests they give you shots

[11:48:48 AM] Laura Winstead: and not like the kind of shots we took in college

[11:49:13 AM] karengoodner: but you still feel hungover

Around 3:30 Chris & Cindy came by to visit at the same time I was getting my chemo for the day. I finished with that am feeling awesome, besides the jaw issue which is being controlled with the pain medicine.

Here are my daily labs:

WBC: 2.5

Platelets: 5 (That is SUPER low, which is why I’m guessing I got the platelets at 6AM)

Hbg: 9.1

Mom and Ryan have been at our house all day, taking fabulous naps and playing. She said he even went pee on his little potty!! What if I get out of here and he’s already potty-trained?! We have decided Ryan won’t come up again today, just to be on the safe side since he’s been around others who haven’t been feeling well. Plus, I think it will be wonderful for him to spend the whole day at our house since he hasn’t done that since this whole ordeal started. In all of this, I just want everything to be as normal as possible for him and I know how much I miss my house and bed. 🙂

John will be coming up for a little visit tonight and I’m very, very happy about that. He’s pretty much feeling better, although he’s still pretty cautious about seeing me. I double checked with the nurses and they give him the green light and tell him he needs to get up here! In fact, yesterday our was “official” one year anniversary in the Catholic church, so happy anniversary baby!

That also means that it’s been one year ago that Ryan was baptized.

9 thoughts on “Day 11

  1. Wow…your lab values continue to amaze me. … You keep up the good work, “hunee chil’ ” and I’ll keep you prayed up and washed in the Blood. As Madea says, “Hallillllooooyer!”

    Miss you guys. I’ll be back in town Thursday at the latest. Hugs!

  2. Wow, love that second picture! Glad they’re keeping you happily drugged up and out of pain-free…also glad J-Dub’s feeling better! I so wish Uncle Sam let me be interrupted at work… Hope you had another great night of rest, peach!

  3. YEAH!! Glad to hear a positive update!! I am happy to read that you FINALLY got a good night’s sleep! I hope it will help keep your energy up and your spirit light :).

    It was great to see you on Sunday!! I hope the nurses let you hang the posters- especially the Dwight Shrute portrait! 🙂

    By the way, do you have MSN Messenger or just AIM? If you have MSN, add me! cassie_drown@hotmail.com! I will be happy to chat away all day…boo to work!

    Love you lady and praying for you every day!

  4. Laura,
    Hey sweetie, I had no idea you were going through all of this until I just read your blog. I can’t help but cry! I can’t even imagine what you are going through and yet you maintain such a great attitude! You are a strong woman who without a doubt is going to kick some cancer butt!!! 😉 I will continue to pray for you and would like to know if it’s ok to add you to the pray list at my church.
    Lots of ((hugs)),
    Danielle Sullens

  5. Oh wow, Ryan is starting to potty train? I can’t wait to welcome you back to the world of no diaper-changing! 🙂

  6. What a day! Lucky number 12 came through. It was so good to talk to you and I love your blog. Keeps me informed and in touch. Love to you.
    How about that JEN AND BRIAN? Nice

Leave a Reply

