Questions

There are a probably a lot of questions I haven’t answered, so if you want to know something just ask and I can answer.  I guess a couple of the main ones everyone have asked are…

How long will I be in the hopsital? This first stretch I will have 22 days of treatment, so my last scheduled day of chemo is March 19th, then they will have to observe me after that.  I’m guessing a week or so still after that.

What happens after that? I don’t know.  We hope that the chemo and everything killed all of the cancer cells and I can be in remission.  At the beginning the doctor had said it can take about a year.  We’ll do this invasive treatment at first, then it will gradually will slow down.  Perhaps to the point where I come in once a month and get chemo through outpatient.   Once I’m in remission, I will have to go up to Barnes and Wash U to “do some tests”, which turns out it could be a bone marrow transplant surgery, but like I said, we don’t know.   I’m really just wanting to get through this first round of being in the hospital and take it day by day.

Do they let you see Ryan? Yep 🙂 They have let him come up to visit for 15 or 20 minutes everyday.  Of course he doesn’t understand and just wants to get into everything and all I want to do is hold him, but it is still fantastic to hear him say “mama” and give me a hug.    He is staying at John’s parents house.  My sister in law Amy came half way across the country to help take care of him.  We have Skype so I get to watch him play everyday, which I LOVE.  He comes up will show me what he’s playing with and blows me kisses when we’re done.   My username is:  lowasampsonite if you’d like to add me.  I think this will be the only way I make it through a month stay in the hospital.

Are you going to lose your hair? Yep.  They say it takes a couple weeks after you start chemo when it will start to fall out.  This is one of the things I just cannot wrap my head around.   That will be a bad day.  At least it will be spring when I get to leave so my head won’t get cold.

8 thoughts on “Questions

  1. These are great updates! Thank you for sharing. I especially like the mention of your time with Ryan and him blowing kisses over skype. Take Care!

  2. Laura….Hi! Judy and I have been and will continue to pray for you daily…..May God grant you His healing touch, His peace, His strength, and His encouragment……Heather keeps us updated…But we wanted to let you know you are in our thoughts and prayers often! Kent & Judy Anderson

  3. Hi Honey,

    It makes me so happy that you’re feeling better. I’m glad you’ve started this blog too. I’m sending positive thoughts and prayer vibes your way!!

    I love you Lowa Sampsonite!

    Love,
    Emma

  4. Thanks for starting the blog. It’s so nice to know what’s going on. And as Jamie mentioned, it’s such a relief to know you can visit with Ryan and see him on Skype! Love you and always thinking of you 🙂

  5. Hi sweetie,

    Thnks for the blog so we don’t have to ask so many questions.
    You are a brave girl and strong too.

    Love, strength and God’s will to you.

    See you soon.
    Love,
    Aunt Phyllis

  6. Hey Laura…you’re a brave girl and it’s so you to start a blog about this. I’m so glad you get to see Ryan. I was wondering about that. I’m sure he brightens your days there. Don’t worry about losing your hair. You can totally rock some cute hats! Love ya lots and sending tons of positive energy to you. See you soon.

    Love, Julie

Leave a Reply

