Christy

It’s a special bond you have with other cancer survivors, but for me, it was especially more so with Christy; she is the only other person I’ve ever met with Adult ALL.  Our nurse Shawna introduced us at my first Relay for Life in May of 2010 and we became fast friends.

Me, Shawna, Christy & Joni

Relay for Life 2011

This past March Christy relapsed and had to go to Barnes in April to go through the stem cell transplant surgery/ recovery. (Some of you might remember me asking you to send her a card while she was there).  She never let it get her down, not Christy.   She was always bringing a smile to everyone else’s face, her spirit was infectious.  She loved the Razorbacks, so while she was in the hospital in Springfield, before going up to Barnes, she got Dr. Ellis a Razorbacks shirt and had him yelling “Woo Pig Sooie” :)

She finally got to come home to Arkansas after a lot of time in St. Louis, but wasn’t home hardly any time at all before it came back again.  The last time I talked to her was Oct. 11th, the night before she had head back to Barnes.  It was a heartbreaking call, she was crying, telling me she was scared and how much she loved me.  Through the tears she told me she was a fighter and I assured her she would be fine, that I know she’s scared and I loved her very much too.

She passed away on the 23rd of this month.  I regret not calling her again, or mailing that card I have had in the drawer for months.  Cancer sucks.

5 thoughts on “Christy

  1. I’m so sorry for your loss. Your right cancer SUCKS. Our granddaughter is in remission but always have fear but must stay positive. Your blog is such an inspiration to others.

  2. So sorry for the loss of your dear friend, Laura. There is nothing kind about cancer. You always have regrets when someone you love dies. However, you told Christy the things that were most important. How many times do we pass up the opportunity to say that “I love you” or fail to forgive until it is too late? Your blog continues to inspire us all. Keep this up….God is using all of these things for the good! LOVE YOU!!!!! :)

  3. Laura, this is the first time I have even looked at your blog. I loved Christy like there was no tomorrow. So happy you met her and the family. She would be so happy to know the fighter in you, even after treatment. Love you girl!

Leave a Reply

